SCCA Majors Mid-States wraps at High Plains

SCCA Majors Mid-States wraps at High Plains

SCCA / SportsCar Magazine

SCCA Majors Mid-States wraps at High Plains


Matt Reynolds clinched the E Production Mid-States Majors Conference Championship Sunday at High Plains (Rupert Berrington photo)

The Sports Car Club of America U.S. Majors Tour Mid-States Conference concluded Round Eight Sunday at the Freedom Sprints Presented by Mazda of Lakewood at High Plains Raceway. Over 100 racers were again met with warm temperatures in the 90s, but frequent cloud cover helped temper the heat.

After finishing second on Saturday, Michael Pettiford, of Louisville, Colo., opened the day with an overall and STL win in his No. 41 GO 4 IT Racing Schools/Hoosier Tires Volkswagen GLI over Saturday’s champ, Anthony Simmers. Pettiford went for the double in group five with his Touring 2 Corvette, but was passed on the final lap by Natha Waldbaum’s No. 51 Hutter Performance/Vettesport Chevrolet Corvette.
Also in group one, Matt Reynolds, of Fair Oaks, Texas, led all the way in his No. 74 Reynolds Brothers Racing/Race Engineering Mazda Miata to take Spec Miata for the second straight day.
Immediately after that 30-minute timed race around the 2.55-mile High Plains Raceway circuit, Reynolds jumped into his E Production Reynolds Brothers Racing/Jesse Prather Motorsport Mazda Miata and led group two overall flag-to-flag for his fourth win of the weekend, clinching the E Production Conference Championship with two races remaining.
While Reynolds cruised to victory in E Production, there were fierce battles behind him. Rick Kosdrosky edged Mike Halbrook in the race for silver in EP, taking the position in his No. 77 Caterham 7 by 0.382-second.
In F Production, polesitter Eric Prill, of Topeka, Kan., saw Saturday winner Bill Hingston again get the early lead in his No. 08 Little Bill Racing/Mazdaspeed Mazda Miata, but unlike Saturday, Prill was resurgent. The pair frequently ran side-by-side and traded the lead before Prill was able to put his No. 27 Jesse Prather Motorsports/Hoosier/Hawk/Motul Mazda Miata ahead for good to take his second Mid-States Majors win of the season.
Stan Czacki, of Truth or Consequences, N.M., won his fifth Touring 4 Majors race of the year, despite losing the power steering in his No. 00 Whitehead/DGI/BFG/Summit/HPD/Cobalt Acura RSX Type S. Jerry Oleson, of Aurora, Colo., took his fourth-straight Conference H Production win in his Austin Healey Sprite.
Keith Verges, of Dallas, Texas, took a dominating win in Spec Racer Ford’s group three race, beating the field to the checkered flag by 21.415 seconds in his No. 69 Apex Driving Academy entry.
In group four, James Stiehr, of Evergreen, Colo., took his second Formula F and overall win of the weekend in his No. 5 Carpe Metam Racing/Morgan Adams Piper. David Vincent, of Leavenworth, Kan., took Formula 500 after finishing second Saturday in his No. 73 XT Racing/Rod End Supply KBS. Bob Neumeister, of Pueblo, Colo., changed cars from Saturday to Sunday, but it didn’t change the result. Neumeister took the Formula Vee win in his No. 94 Hoosier Tires/Redline Oil/RCE Vortech.
Waldbaum and Pettiford’s Touring 2 battle stole the show in Group 5, but five other drivers were victorious in class for the second-straight day, including Justin Napoleon (GT2), Jim Valdez (GT3), Robert Schader (STL), Jason Ott (Touring 3) and Jim Wheeler (American Sedan).
Schader’s win was his seventh in eight U.S. Majors Tour Mid-States Conference races, clinching the season-long Championship.
The final group of the weekend for winged formula cars and sports racing cars also featured a late-race pass for the overall lead, with Dwight Rider, of Aurora, Colo., passing Kirk Kindsfater, of Eaton, Colo., on lap 10, just as a race-ending full course caution came out. Rider also won Formula Atlantic in his Ralt RT-41, with Kindsfater taking C Sports Racing in his Speads RS 11.
Robert Adams, of Denver, Colo., won Formula 1000 in his Astra. Defending Formula Mazda National Champion Alan McCallum, of Houston, Texas, took his second win of the weekend in his No. 1 Alan McCallum Racing entry. Parker, Colorado’s Tex Arnold won Formula Continental in his Van Diemen. Steve Meyer, of Longmont, Colo., won Sports 2000 and Henry Donohoo, of Arvada, Colo., won Formula Enterprises in his No. 10 Mazda of Lakewood entry.
For full event results and information, please visit the event homepage at
The U.S. Majors Tour Mid-States Conference concludes its 2013 Championship Aug. 3-4 at Gateway Raceway, in Madison, Ill.


American Sedan, Jim Wheeler, Lenexa, Kan., Pontiac Trans-Am.
C Sports Racing, Kirk Kindsfater, Eaton, Colo., Speads RS 11.
E Production, Matt Reynolds, Fair Oaks, Texas, Mazda Miata.
F Production, Eric Prill, Topeka, Kan., Mazda Miata.
Formula 1000, Robert Adams, Denver, Colo., Astra.
Formula 500, David Vincent, Leavenworth, Kan., KBS Mk VII.
Formula Atlantic, Dwight Rider, Aurora, Colo., Ralt RT-41.
Formula Continental, Tex Arnold, Parker, Colo., Van Diemen.
Formula Enterprises, Henry Donohoo, Arvada, Colo., Formula Enterprises.
Formula F, James Stiehr, Evergreen, Colo., Piper DF5.
Formula Mazda, Alan McCallum, Houston, Texas, Formula Mazda.
Formula Vee, Robert Neumeister, Pueblo, Colo., Vortech.
GT-2, Justin Napoleon, Magnolia, Texas, Chevrolet Camaro.
GT-3, Jim Valdez, Denver, Colo., BMW E46.
H Production, Jerry Oleson, Aurora, Colo., Austin-Healey Sprite.
Spec Miata, Matt Reynolds, Fair Oaks, Texas, Mazda Miata.
Spec Racer Ford, Keith Verges, Dallas, Texas, Spec Racer Ford.
Sports 2000, Steve Meyer, Longmont, Colo., Lola 89/90.
Super Touring Lite, Robert Schader, Longmont, Colo., Mazda Miata.
Super Touring Under, Michael Pettiford, Louisville, Colo., Volkswagen GLI.
Touring 2, Natha Waldbaum, Omaha, Neb., Chevrolet Corvette ZO6.
Touring 3, Jason Ott, Thornton, Colo., BMW Z4 Coupe.
Touring 4, Stan Czacki, Truth or Consequences, N.M., Acura RSX-S.


More SCCA / SportsCar Magazine