Buhk/Day give Mercedes first '13 win

Buhk/Day give Mercedes first '13 win


Buhk/Day give Mercedes first '13 win


Maximilian Buhk and Alon Day dominated the championship race of the Zandvoort FIA GT Series round to give Mercedes its first victory of the season.

Buhk led from pole, and again after a red flag period, and built a lead of more than six seconds over Stephane Ortelli in the best of the WRT Audis before the mandatory pit stops began. Day resumed with a lead of just under three seconds, but was able to exploit the clear advantage of the Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG around Zandvoort to pull away from Laurens Vanthoor in the Audi R8 LMS ultra.

Buhk said: “I had to try to stay focused during the red flag. I pushed hard because I knew we would lose time to the WRT cars in the pit stops.”

Vanthoor had to fend off the advances of Frank Stippler in the second WRT Audi over the final couple of laps. The German, who shared the car with Edward Sandstrom, had dropped nearly four seconds behind the sister car after the pit stops.

Fourth place went to the Seyffarth Mercedes driven by Karun Chandhok and Jan Seyffarth. Chandhok went from eighth to sixth at the start before losing out to Hari Proczyk in the Grasser Lamborghini Gallardo.

A quick pit stop got the car out in fourth place and Seyffarth was able to hold off the advances of Alvaro Parente in the Sebastien Loeb Racing McLaren before the Portuguese stopped with two laps to go.