Marquez dominates again in Argentina MotoGP

Images by Gold and Goose/LAT

Marquez dominates again in Argentina MotoGP

International Racing

Marquez dominates again in Argentina MotoGP


Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) obliterated the opposition in the Argentina MotoGP Grand Prix to take victory by over nine seconds, the reigning world champion beating second place Valentino Rossi (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) and third place Andrea Dovizioso (Mission Winnow Ducati) as the Italian duo battled it out for the entire race.

Marquez got an unthreatened holeshot after a blinder of a start with second place Maverick Vinales (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) getting bogged down, allowing Dovizioso, Rossi and Jack Miller (Pramac Racing) to get by the Spaniard. With Marquez holding position off the line, it was a case of head and hammer down for the No. 93 as he bolted to a one second lead on Lap 1, with that gap increasing to 2.4s after Lap 2 as it soon became a race for second.That race for second was fierce though as Dovizioso, Rossi, Miller, Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda Castrol) and Franco Morbidelli (Petronas Yamaha SRT) scrapped it out. But it was soon race over the Crutchlow as he received  a ride-through penalty for jumping the start — no repeat win or podium for last season’s Argentina GP victor.

On Lap 8 Marquez’s lead had stretched to five seconds as six riders all had their sights set on second, with Danilo Petrucci (Mission Winnow Ducati) and Vinales joining the fray. Rossi got the better of Dovizioso on Lap 9 after running in hot at Turn 5 on Lap 8 having overtaken his compatriot, but the Ducati rider locked himself onto Rossi’s M1 tailpipes as the Italians locked horns in Termas.

It was Rossi who held the P2 baton at the halfway point, eight seconds from Marquez, with Dovizioso, Morbidelli, Petrucci, Miller, Vinales in tandem, with Team Suzuki Ecstar’s Alex Rins creeping up to the rear of Vinales after making up ground from P16 on the grid, firmly tagging himself onto the back of the podium hunt with 10 to go. Vinales then ran wide at Turn 5 as he dropped behind eighth place Takaaki Nakagami (LCR Honda Idemitsu).

With nine to go, a Noah’s Ark formation appeared as second to seventh were two-by-two, roughly half a second between the pairings. Dovi and Rossi locked together, Morbidelli and Petrucci interchanging for fourth with Rins and Miller engaged in battle. Morbidelli soon found himself down in seventh though, Rins and Miller getting the better of him. Meanwhile, Marquez’s gap had opened up to 12 seconds.

The group had closed back up again but with five laps remaining, Dovi and Rossi were edging out an advantage over the chasing pack, with Petrucci, Rins and Miller squabbling for fourth place. Both Rins and Miller getting the better of Petrucci at Turn 5 with three to go.

Heading into the last lap it was Dovi leading Rossi. Both were clear of fourth, but which step of the podium would they be standing on? Dovizioso was able to keep second as the Yamaha had no match for the Ducati grunt down the straight, but Rossi sliced his way through on his countryman at Turn 7. A long way up the road, Marquez cruised round to take his first win of the season in scintillating fashion, while Rossi earned his first podium since the 2018 German GP. Dovizioso came home third, achieving his pre-race aims of a podium finish to head to Austin four points behind Marquez in the championship.

Just behind, there was drama for two Yamahas on the last lap. Morbidelli tagging the back of Vinales at Turn 7, the duo going down and out of contention. This left Miller holding fourth to repeat his 2018 Argentina GP result, with Rins climbing 11 positions from his P16 starting slot to earn fifth place. Petrucci takes away a second consecutive sixth of the season.

Nakagami makes it two top 10s in two in 2019 to come home seventh, with first of the rookies Fabio Quartararo (Petronas Yamaha SRT) picking up his first points of the year with P8. The Espargaro brothers completed the top ten, Aprilia Racing Team Gresini’s Aleix heading Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Pol by 0.3s. Miguel Oliveira (Red Bull KTM Tech 3) produced an incredibly impressive ride on his second premier class start to finish just 0.176s behind the factory KTM.

Jorge Lorenzo (Repsol Honda Team), a recovering Crutchlow, Francesco Bagnaia (Pramac Racing) and Johann Zarco (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) completed the points.


MX-5 Cup | Round 10 – Road America