Sprint car council to focus on improving safety, costs, rules

Image by LaBounty/LAT

Sprint car council to focus on improving safety, costs, rules

North American Racing

Sprint car council to focus on improving safety, costs, rules


A coalition of sanctioning bodies, tracks, car owners, chassis builders and drivers have announced details of its Sprint Car Council, a group designed to advance the sport of sprint car racing by improving communication between members of the sprint car industry.

The council — which was unveiled in August — will not be a governing body, but the representatives will focus on improving car and track safety, rule consistency, maintaining costs, enforcing suspensions across track and series and working to better sprint car racing. Ultimately, decisions on adjusting rules, safety measures and related matters will fall to each series, track and car owner.

“Many people in the industry are aware that we had a vision and goal to assemble a council when we met in August during the Knoxville Nationals,” said Tony Stewart, who represents the All Star Circuit of Champions as a series owner.

“I am extremely excited about the enthusiasm and participation from our members. This is a great opportunity for all of us to improve sprint car racing for years to come.”

The council will meet at least four times a year.

“Since 1978, the World of Outlaws has been a leader in sprint car racing, and we are pleased to expand on that role with the sprint car council,” said World of Outlaws CEO Brian Carter.

“Going back 10 years with our stakeholders group, the World of Outlaws has strived to bring the industry closer and to strengthen the foundation of sprint car racing while keeping an eye toward the future. We hope through the sprint car council all the parties can learn from each other to continue enhancing the sport we all love.”

Participating members of the council include: All Star Circuit of Champions, American Sprint Car Series, Attica Raceway Park, BAPS Motor Speedway, Empire Super Sprints, IRA Sprints, Jackson Motorplex, Knoxville Raceway, Lincoln (PA) Speedway, Midwest Open Wheel Association, National Sprint League, Port Royal Speedway, POWRi, POWRi WAR Sprint Car League, Skagit Speedway, Upper Midwest Sprint Series, United States Auto Club, WI MSA 360 sprints, World of Outlaws and Williams Grove Speedway.

Chassis builder Barry Jackson, former WoO champion Daryn Pittman, consultant John Darby and team owner/engineer Mark Chevalier are among the council’s members.