Blaney leads opening Texas practice

Image by Team Penske

Blaney leads opening Texas practice


Blaney leads opening Texas practice


Ryan Blaney was fastest in the lone Friday practice session at Texas Motor Speedway with a lap of 198.976mph.

Blaney was the fastest of three Fords that ended up in the top five. Kevin Harvick, the defending race winner, was second quick at 198.456mph with Stewart-Haas Racing teammate Kurt Busch third at 198.136mph.

Denny Hamlin also ran a lap of 198.136mph to clock in fourth fastest. Aric Almirola completed the top five at 197.904mph.

The rest of the top 10 were Joey Logano (196.922mph), Clint Bowyer (196.872mph), Erik Jones (196.707mph), Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (196.592mph) and Brad Keselowski (196.549mph).

There were no incidents in the 50-minute session. Only one car, the No. 99 of Kyle Weatherman, served a 15-minute practice hold for the car being late to post-qualifying/pre-race inspection last weekend.

UP NEXT: Qualifying at 7 p.m. ET.