Americas Rallycross Championship set to debut at Silverstone

Americas Rallycross Championship set to debut at Silverstone


Americas Rallycross Championship set to debut at Silverstone


The Americas Rallycross Championship, a new series featuring rallycross stars and drivers from the formed Red Bull Global Rallycross Series, will debut at Silverstone as part of the Speedmachine festival this weekend.

The ARC was initially launched in March by IMG, the international sports marketing giant which organizes the World and European Rallycross championships. It was meant to rival GRC until the latter series abruptly ceased operations in April amid a litany of legal action and unpaid bills to vendors and host venues.

Among the teams and drivers committed to the series are Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross with drivers Tanner Foust and Scott Speed and Subaru Rally Team USA with drivers Patrik Sandell, David Higgins, and Chris Atkinson. Ken Block and his Hoonigan Racing Division announced in April that they have teamed up with rallycross driver Steve Arpin and Loenbro Motorsports with an intent to take part in the inaugural season.

“Our team has been able to achieve great success in rallycross and we look forward to continuing that legacy with the new ARX competition,” said Michael Andretti. “Scott and Tanner are some of the finest drivers on the planet in this motorsport discipline, and our cars are ready and better than ever.”

The event will feature four qualifying rounds, followed by the semifinals and a final, which will be held Saturday and continue Sunday. Fans will be able to watch live on the ARX Rallycross Facebook page.

“With a fantastic lineup of teams and drivers, this weekend’s inaugural round of ARX promises to be a highlight of our Speedmachine festival,” said IMG senior vice president for motorsports Paul Bellamy.

“We are incredibly excited to welcome the Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross and Subaru Rally teams to Silverstone, and look forward to seeing them line up for the start of the new Championship. With Hoonigan Racing Division’s Ken Block and Steve Arpin also entering the future rounds of ARX, it’s going to be fascinating series right to the end.”