37 cars set for WEC 6H Spa-Francorchamps

37 cars set for WEC 6H Spa-Francorchamps

Le Mans/WEC

37 cars set for WEC 6H Spa-Francorchamps


The entry list for the first round of the 2018 FIA WEC ‘Super Season,’ the 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps, features 37 cars across the four classes.

The one additional entry to the 36 full-season efforts comes in the LMP2 ranks, as Russian-flagged outfit G-Drive Racing returns to the series for a one-off race as preparation for the Le Mans 24 Hours. The team has listed two of its three drivers – former LMP2 world champion Roman Rusinov and ex-F1 driver/current Formula E driver Jean-Eric Vergne – to drive its European Le Mans Series-bound ORECA 07 Gibson.

The provisional entry list also includes a number of new drivers who previously hadn’t been confirmed. Gabriel Aubrey will join Jackie Chan DC Racing’s No. 38 crew; Ford’s third drivers – American Billy Johnson and IndyCar star Tony Kanaan – will take part; Australian Matt Campbell has joined Dempsey Proton; and Russian drivers Egor Orudzhev and Matevos Isaakyan will join ex-Toyota drvier Stephane Sarrazin in the No. 17 SMP BR1 AER.

There’s still plenty of TBAs among the teams. In addition to G-Drive’s open seat, Jackie Chan DC Racing’s No. 38 ORECA has a free seat. In LMP1, four of the six CEFC TRSM Racing Ginetta drivers are yet to be announced, SMP has an opening and two of ByKolles’ drivers are still unknown.

In the GTE ranks, Dempsey Proton has a single seat still marked as open in GTE Am, and there are two factory teams racing with two drivers in GTE Pro, AF Corse and Porsche.

The 2018 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps, the first of two races at Spa in the 2018/19 season, will mark the WEC debut of a slew of new cars, including the eight LMP1 privateer machines, the BMW M8 GTE, EVO-spec Ferrari 488 GTE and 2018 Aston Martin Vantage GTE.

Plenty of big-name drivers will also make their first WEC outing in Belgium, including Toyota’s Fernando Alonso, DragonSpeed’s Pastor Maldonado, BMW’s Augusto Farfus and Aston Martin Racing’s Maxime Martin.

For the full entry list, click here.