Foust completes Seattle Global Rallycross sweep

Foust completes Seattle Global Rallycross sweep

Global Rallycross

Foust completes Seattle Global Rallycross sweep


It wasn’t as smooth of a path as Saturday’s clean sweep, but Tanner Foust remained undefeated in Red Bull Global Rallycross events at Evergreen Speedway with a Supercar final victory on Sunday. Foust bested his Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross teammate Scott Speed, who had been perfect heading into the main event, with Subaru Rally Team USA’s Patrik Sandell finishing third.

“It’s true – Scott could have swept the title this weekend,” said Foust. “We held him off from that, but more importantly we held off Steve Arpin from gaining points. Finishing 1-2 twice puts Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross in the championship 1-2 with Scott leading. It was just an amazing effort from all the guys, and I’m so happy for the whole team.”

Much like Foust on Saturday, Speed was perfect in his heats and semifinals to take the top spot heading into the main event. But a terrific start from Foust, the four-time Fan Favorite Driver of the Year, enabled him to grab a lead that he would never relinquish. Behind them, Sunday polesitter Sandell took his second podium in the past four races, while Supercar newcomer Austin Cindric and Saturday polesitter Chris Atkinson would complete the top five.

In GRC Lites, Christian Brooks won the battle, but Cyril Raymond won the war in Sunday’s main event. After a first-lap collision claimed James Rimmer’s car and forced a red flag and restart, Raymond restarted in the lead despite missing his entire hood and front bumper, but Brooks used a later Joker Lap strategy to make the pass and take his third victory of the season. Still, second-place points were enough for Raymond to claim the 2017 Lites title – his second in eight days, after earning the European title in France last weekend.


1. Tanner Foust, #34 Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross
2. Scott Speed, #41 Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross
3. Patrik Sandell, #18 Subaru Rally Team USA
4. Austin Cindric, #19 Bryan Herta Rallysport
5. Chris Atkinson, #55 Subaru Rally Team USA
6. Austin Dyne, #14 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
7. Steve Arpin, #00 Loenbro Motorsports
8. Mitchell deJong, #24 Honda Red Bull Olsbergs MSE
9. Sebastian Eriksson, #93 Honda Red Bull Olsbergs MSE
10. Oliver Eriksson, #16 Honda Red Bull Olsbergs MSE

MX-5 Cup | Round 6 – Mid-Ohio