FE: Expanded calendar finally approved

FE: Expanded calendar finally approved

Formula E

FE: Expanded calendar finally approved


Formula E’s 2016-’17 calendar has finally been approved, expanding the series’ schedule to 12 events.

The electric single-seater championship had intended to get its season-three calendar ratified at last week’s meeting of the FIA’s World Motor Sport Council. This was delayed due to concerns from the FIA, but these have now been allayed and the calendar was approved following an electronic vote.

FE will kick off its third season in Hong Kong on Oct. 9 and end with a double-header in New York on July 29-30, though that is subject to “final administrative authorization.”

Marrakech will host round two of the campaign on Nov. 12, before a three-month gap to Buenos Aires on Feb. 18.

FE wants to offset that interval with a driver-versus-fan virtual race, with a large financial jackpot, in Las Vegas and the calendar includes a space for the “FIA Electric Mobility Forum” in the Nevada city on Jan. 7.

The series will go to Mexico City on April 1 ahead of the first of two TBA events on April 22, believed to be between Long Beach or Singapore.

Monaco returns to the calendar after a year’s absence on May 13, one week before Paris.

The second TBA race is scheduled for June 24, with another new event in Brussels taking place one week later.

Montreal also joins the calendar, like New York as a double-header, and will host the penultimate event on July 15-16.

“Formula E is all about showcasing fully-electric racing together with the most iconic landmarks in the world – and the calendar for next season certainly matches our ambitions,” said Formula E CEO Alejandro Agag.

As expected, London does not appear on the calendar as things stand, although Agag says it is one of the options under consideration for the TBA slot in June.

Other season-two cities to drop out are Beijing, Putrajaya and Punta del Este, while the canceled Moscow event has not been revived.


Hong Kong October 9
Marrakech November 12
Buenos Aires February 18
Mexico City April 1
TBA April 22
Monaco May 13
Paris May 20
Berlin June 10
TBA June 24
Brussels July 1
Montreal July 15/16
New York July 29/30

Originally on Autosport.com

MX-5 Cup | Round 2 – Daytona | Livestream