Audi shuffles DTM lineup for 2014

Audi shuffles DTM lineup for 2014


Audi shuffles DTM lineup for 2014


Audi has shuffled its DTM lineup for the 2014 season, with two-time champion Timo Scheider moving to join last year’s title winner Mike Rockenfeller at Team Phoenix.


Scheider won back-to-back crowns in 2008-’09 after being promoted to the Abt Sportsline team for 2007, but he has not won a race since 2010. He returns to Phoenix, which he raced for when both driver and team were a part of Opel’s DTM entry early in the 21st century.


“I had a great time with Abt and am leaving with a tear in my eye,” said Scheider. “On the other hand I’m looking forward to driving for the outfit that has provided the DTM champion twice in the past three years [with Rockenfeller in 2013 and Martin Tomczyk in ’11]. Besides that I know the team really well from my days before Audi.”


Scheider takes the place of Miguel Molina at Phoenix, with the Spaniard returning to Abt, where he raced from 2010-11.




Audi has made a second change to Abt’s lineup, as former Mercedes driver Jamie Green switches to Team Rosberg. He will be joined there by DTM rookie Nico Muller as the Swiss driver moves across from single-seater racing.


Green’s Abt seat is filled by Edoardo Mortara (BELOW), who had a disappointing season in 2013 after being a race winner for Rosberg the previous year.


The other half of Abt’s four-car lineup is unchanged, with two-time champion Mattias Ekstrom and Adrien Tambay staying on.


Audi’s DTM boss Dieter Gass said: “Following extensive discussions, all the parties involved feel that we’ve found the best solution to come up with as strong a lineup as possible.


“On the one hand we are banking on continuity, as we’re going to have seven of our previous drivers on the grid again in 2014. On the other hand, we feel that a change now and then won’t hurt. That’s why we’re convinced that we’re well-set for the new season with our modified lineup.”



Team Phoenix
Mike Rockenfeller
Timo Scheider

Abt Sportsline
Mattias Ekstrom
Adrien Tambay
Edoardo Mortara
Miguel Molina

Team Rosberg
Jamie Green
Nico Muller

MX-5 Cup | Round 9 – Road America | Livestream

IndyCar App