RACER of the Year - Club Racer of the Year picks

RACER of the Year - Club Racer of the Year picks


RACER of the Year - Club Racer of the Year picks


Voting is now open for RACER of the Year XIX, the 2013 edition of our annual poll of the readers of RACER and RACER.com for their selections of the top auto racing performers of the year. This time we’ve added a new category Club Racer of the Year, which features six nominations for the outstanding amateur racer of 2013. Here are the qualifications of our six nominees:

Jim Drago, Spec Miata 2013 SCCA National Champion

After starting on the pole for the massive 67-car Spec Miata race at the SCCA Runoffs, Drago backed up his 2012 title with the 2013 win, making him the first driver in SCCA history to score repeat wins in Spec Miata. Two days later, Drago took to the track in another Miata, but this time in Super Touring Lite. There he qualified second and finished third against some very tough competition.

Tim Kautz, Formula F 2013 SCCA National Champion

Kautz drove his Honda-powered Formula F to his second consecutive National Championship at the 2013 SCCA Runoffs, in what was one of the tightest races of the event. While Kautz started on the pole in a 24-car field, the race came down to the final lap, where he and Reid Hazelton battled with inches to spare for the entire four-mile circuit. At the checker, Kautz claimed the title by 0.1sec.

Lawrence Loshak, Formula 1000, H Production 2013 SCCA National Champion

Loshak started the 50th SCCA National Championship Runoffs with a setback, turning that into an impressive come-from-behind win. After earning the pole for Formula 1000, a late arrival to grid resulted in starting the race from the last position. Good tire choice on the damp track and a solid drive found him quickly moving through the field. On the final lap, Loshak made the pass for the lead into Turn 1 and held the position for his second career Runoffs title. A few hours later, Loshak started his second Runoffs race of 2013 on the H Production pole in a Honda CRX. In that race, Loshak crossed the finish line to claim the win, some 11secs ahead of second place.

David Schotz, Performance Touring B, Time Trial B, Time Trial C 2013 NASA National Champion

Schotz managed a hat trick at the 2013 NASA National Championships, winning the PTB road race as well as the TTB/TTC Time Trials events. In PTB, Schotz checked out from the field to score a better than 14sec margin of victory, and claimed the overall Performance Touring group win with his Pontiac Firebird. In TTB, Schotz utilized his Firebird racecar to take the top time by nearly 3sec, then switched over to a Chevrolet Camaro for TTC, where he won by 0.5sec.

Matt Schultz, Spec Miata 2013 NASA National Champion

Schultz began racing a Spec Miata in 2007, competing in SCCA Regional races, moving to NASA when the NASA Northwest chapter began hosting events in 2013. Schultz started the 2013 NASA National Championship race a disappointing sixth, but aggressive pre-race setup changes and an equally assertive start found him moving up quickly, taking the lead by the fifth lap. As the rest of the field battled, Schultz cruised to the win.

Michael Varacins, Formula Vee 2013 SCCA National Champion

Formula Vee is one of the most popular non-spec classes in SCCA Club Racing. In FV, races and won and lost by the draft, but Michael Varacins found a way to defy physics and the rest of the class on his way to the 2013 National Championship. Varacins started on the pole and motored a 20sec margin of victory.

To vote for one of these nominees along with the rest of the RACER of the Year XIX categories, click here.

MX-5 Cup | Watkins Glen – Round 8 | Livestream