Loeb McLaren elevated to Baku podium

Loeb McLaren elevated to Baku podium


Loeb McLaren elevated to Baku podium


Sebastien Loeb and Alvaro Parente have been promoted to second position in the FIA GT Series championship race in Baku.

The McLaren MP4-12C duo, who drive for Sebastien Loeb Racing, have been moved up from fourth place in the final results after the cars that finished second and third were given 10-second time penalties.

The move means that the Hexis Racing McLaren, shared by Rob Bell and Kevin Estre, and the Charouz Gravity Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG driven by Maximilian Buhk and Alon Day are demoted to third and fourth places respectively.

The penalties were awarded for avoidable contact as a result of an incident at Turn 2 three laps from the end of the race as the trio battled for second position.

Parente had made a move up the inside of the Mercedes at the hairpin and was followed by Estre. Day made contact with Parente, who then hit Estre.

Estre emerged from the contretemps in second, followed by Day and Parente.

Revised results - 30 laps:Pos  Drivers                 Team/Car                      Time/Gap 1.  Ortelli/Vanthoor        WRT Audi                  1h00m39.010s 2.  Loeb/Parente            Loeb McLaren                   +5.755s 3.  Bell/Estre              Hexis McLaren                  +11.313s* 4.  Buhk/Day                Gravity Charouz Mercedes       +15.312s* 5.  Baumann/Proczyk         Grasser Lamborghini           +31.029s 6.  Sladecka/Rosina         Grasser Lamborghini           +39.168s 7.  Campanico/Ammermuller   Novadriver Audi               +39.464s 8.  Sims/Dusseldorp         Boutsen McLaren               +39.884s 9.  Soucek/Turvey           MRS McLaren                   +41.553s10.  Hassid/Beltoise         TDS BMW                       +46.205s11.  Stippler/Sandstrom      WRT Audi                    +1m03.310s12.  Winkelhock/Ide          Phoenix Audi                +1m10.829s13.  Sdanewitsch/Leo         AF Ferrari                  +1m23.156s14.  Cunha/Stumpf            Rodrive Lamborghini            +2 laps15.  Mayr-Melnhof/Rast       WRT Audi                       +2 laps16.  Thomas/Melnikov         MRS McLaren                    +2 laps* 10s penaltyRetirements:     Zonta/Jimenez           Brasil BMW                     15 laps     Tandy/Holzer            Trackspeed Porsche             14 laps     Vervisch/Vandoorne      Boutsen McLaren                11 laps     Charouz/Janis           Gravity Charouz Mercedes        7 laps     Zuber/Parisy            Loeb McLaren                    3 laps     Webb/Hetherington       Fortec Mercedes                 2 laps     Khodair/Bueno           Brasil BMW                       1 lap     Catsburg/Martin         Marc VDS BMW                    0 laps     Afanasiev/Simonsen      Gravity Charouz Mercedes        0 laps     Demoustier/Albuquerque  WRT Audi                        0 laps

MX-5 Cup | Round 1 – Daytona | Livestream