Marquez champion in epic finale

Marquez champion in epic finale


Marquez champion in epic finale


Marc Marquez became MotoGP world champion in his rookie season as he took third place in an epic Valencia decider won by Jorge Lorenzo.

?You know?it is a dream that has come true!? Marquez said, struggling to describe his feelings after the 30-lap race. ?Maybe too early, because I didn’t expect it in the first season of MotoGP! It feels so good.

?I cannot explain what I feel, to fight in front of all of our fans with Jorge and Dani (Pedrosa) ” two of the best riders in the history of MotoGP. Now I just want to say thanks to Honda, all of my team, all of the people that helped me, my family?they are always there and I don’t know what else I can say because I feel so good!?

With a 13-point advantage, 20-year-old Marquez only needed fourth place to become the first rookie champion since Kenny Roberts in 1978 and the youngest ever premier class title winner.

Lorenzo needed a win and to hope disaster befell Marquez, and he did his utmost by blasting his Yamaha into the lead at the start, as Marquez fell to third behind Honda teammate Dani Pedrosa.

It appeared in the first half of the race that Lorenzo’s tactic was to slow the pace and bunch the pack to give rivals ample chance to attack Marquez. Instead, all the action was around Lorenzo, as he and Pedrosa engaged in a spectacular tussle.

Six times in the first seven laps Pedrosa overtook the double champion, only for Lorenzo to force a way back through each time, as well as hanging on under braking through countless other close calls.

The crunch came approaching one-third distance, when Pedrosa took the lead at Turn 1 and Lorenzo’s retaliation into Turn 2 ended in contact that sent both wide. As Marquez swept into the lead, Pedrosa fell to fifth behind the swiftly-recovering Lorenzo, Alvaro Bautista and Valentino Rossi. Race direction is investigating this clash.

Lorenzo was soon back in the lead, as Marquez made it easy for him as soon as his very determined championship rival appeared on his tail. The Honda man did repass Lorenzo briefly further around the lap, before deciding to play it safe. Lorenzo then abandoned his previous strategy and made a break for it, leaving Marquez to his own devices and setting a blistering, lap-record-smashing pace. The Spaniard went on to take his eighth win of 2013 ” two more than Marquez ” by 3.9 seconds.

Pedrosa recovered to second, with Marquez settling for a third place that made him champion after a remarkable debut season. Rossi and Bautista fell away in fourth and fifth.

Cal Crutchlow was an early crasher in his final race for Tech 3 Yamaha, leaving Stefan Bradl and Bradley Smith to finish sixth and seventh.

Nicky Hayden led the Ducati ranks in his farewell appearance for the team in eighth. Pramac rider Andrea Iannone had given his factory counterparts a very hard time but fell late on.

Aleix Espargaro came out on top in CRT again in his Aspar swanswong, as qualifying sensation Danilo Petrucci dropped back.

Results - 30 laps:Pos  Rider             Team/Bike               Time/Gap 1.  Jorge Lorenzo     Yamaha                46m10.302s 2.  Dani Pedrosa      Honda                    +3.934s 3.  Marc Marquez      Honda                    +7.357s 4.  Valentino Rossi   Yamaha                  +10.579s 5.  Alvaro Bautista   Gresini Honda           +14.965s 6.  Stefan Bradl      LCR Honda               +24.399s 7.  Bradley Smith     Tech 3 Yamaha           +29.043s 8.  Nicky Hayden      Ducati                  +39.893s 9.  Andrea Dovizioso  Ducati                  +53.196s10.  Michele Pirro     Ducati                +1m02.983s11.  Aleix Espargaro   Aspar Aprilia         +1m04.197s12.  Hector Barbera    Avintia FTR-Kawasaki  +1m06.826s13.  Claudio Corti     Forward FTR-Kawasaki  +1m11.481s14.  Danilo Petrucci   Ioda-Suter-BMW        +1m13.643s15.  Colin Edwards     Forward FTR-Kawasaki  +1m24.249s16.  Hiroshi Aoyama    Avintia FTR-Kawasaki  +1m33.010s17.  Michael Laverty   PBM Aprilia               +1 lap18.  Luca Scassa       Cardion Aprilia           +1 lap19.  Bryan Staring     Gresini FTR-Honda         +1 lap20.  Martin Bauer      Remus Suter-BMW           +1 lapRetirements:     Andrea Iannone    Pramac Ducati            26 laps     Randy de Puniet   Aspar Aprilia            23 laps     Cal Crutchlow     Tech 3 Yamaha             9 laps     Yonny Hernandez   Pramac Ducati             8 laps     Lukas Pesek       Ioda-Suter-BMW            3 laps     Damian Cudlin     PBM-Aprilia               3 laps

MX-5 Cup | Round 1 – Daytona | Livestream