Vandoorne sets pace on final day of GP2 tests

Vandoorne sets pace on final day of GP2 tests

Formula 2

Vandoorne sets pace on final day of GP2 tests


McLaren Formula 1 junior driver Stoffel Vandoorne dominated the final day of GP2 Series post-season testing on Thursday, the Belgian setting the pace in the morning and afternoon sessions.

The Formula Renault 3.5 runner-up, who was at the wheel of the DAMS car after testing for ART on the previous two days, beat Trident’s Giovanni Venturini to the quickest time, a 1m48.657-second lap, posted in the evening.

Vandoorne, whom McLaren is set to place in GP2 next year, outpaced Venturini by less than a tenth of a second, with Wednesday pacesetter Rio Haryanto (Caterham) ending up third, less than two tenths of a second off the pace.

The opening day’s fastest man, Raffaele Marciello, was fourth for Racing Engineering, having switched from Trident. Daniel Abt completed the top five for Hilmer ahead of Tio Ellinas (MP) and Johnny Cecotto Jr. (Rapax).

GP3 runner-up Facu Regalia was eighth for Addax, in what was the team’s final outing in GP2 before Adrian Campos takes it over for the 2014 season.

Abt caused the sole red flag of the day when he stopped on track in the afternoon session.

GP2 teams will return to action for pre-season testing next year.

Afternoon timesPos Driver                  Team                    Time      Laps 1. Stoffel Vandoorne       DAMS                    1m49.322s  28 2. Facu Regalia            Addax                   1m49.764s  24 3. Stephane Richelmi       DAMS                    1m49.904s  24 4. Arthur Pic              Arden                   1m50.095s  30 5. Simon Trummer           Rapax                   1m50.116s  22 6. Mitch Evans             Racing Engineering      1m50.226s  26 7. Giovanni Venturini      Trident                 1m50.241s  22 8. Andre Negrao            Carlin                  1m50.301s  22 9. Johnny Cecotto          Rapax                   1m50.330s  2110. Dani Clos               Lazarus                 1m50.374s  2711. Daniel De Jong          MP Motorsport           1m50.393s  1412. Daniel Abt              Hilmer                  1m50.440s  1713. Julian Leal             Hilmer                  1m50.562s  2714. Raffaele Marciello      Racing Engineering      1m50.610s  2715. Jordan King             Addax                   1m50.757s  2116. Jazeman Jaafar          Carlin                  1m50.961s  2617. Nathanael Berthon       Arden                   1m50.976s  2318. Tio Ellinas             MP Motorsport           1m51.079s  2419. Conor Daly              ART                     1m51.514s  3320. Artem Markelov          Russian Time            1m51.657s  1521. Gianmarco Raimondo      Trident                 1m51.675s  3122. Rene Binder             Lazarus                 1m51.865s  1023. Nikolay Martsenko       ART                     1m52.370s  4124. Sam Bird                Russian Time            1m52.538s  2725. Will Stevens            Caterham                1m53.551s  2026. Rio Haryanto            Caterham                1m53.648s  24Evening times                                             Pos Driver                  Team                    Time      Laps 1. Stoffel Vandoorne       DAMS                    1m48.657s  34 2. Giovanni Venturini      Trident                 1m48.710s  34 3. Rio Haryanto            Caterham                1m48.796s  32 4. Raffaele Marciello      Racing Engineering      1m49.052s  26 5. Daniel Abt              Hilmer                  1m49.090s  31 6. Tio Ellinas             MP Motorsport           1m49.157s  29 7. Johnny Cecotto          Rapax                   1m49.256s  30 8. Facu Regalia            Addax                   1m49.373s  20 9. Stephane Richelmi       DAMS                    1m49.374s  3410. Jordan King             Addax                   1m49.440s  2611. Will Stevens            Caterham                1m49.570s  2912. Andre Negrao            Carlin                  1m49.600s  2813. Nathanael Berthon       Arden                   1m49.611s  2814. Julian Leal             Hilmer                  1m49.680s  3115. Arthur Pic              Arden                   1m49.690s  3316. Mitch Evans             Racing Engineering      1m49.704s  2417. Daniel De Jong          MP Motorsport           1m49.727s  1918. Dani Clos               Lazarus                 1m49.854s  3019. Jazeman Jaafar          Carlin                  1m49.912s  3220. Simon Trummer           Rapax                   1m49.982s  3721. Nikolay Martsenko       ART                     1m50.110s  3222. Rene Binder             Lazarus                 1m50.294s  3623. Conor Daly              ART                     1m50.312s  2624. Gianmarco Raimondo      Trident                 1m50.919s  2825. Artem Markelov          Russian Time            1m51.165s  2326. Sam Bird                Russian Time            1m51.696s  22