Dominant Kvyat wins GP3 crown

Dominant Kvyat wins GP3 crown

Formula 3

Dominant Kvyat wins GP3 crown


Future Toro Rosso Formula 1 driver Daniil Kvyat endorsed his graduation by securing the GP3 title in the first race at Abu Dhabi.

Racing under the lights, a first for GP3, MW Arden racer Kvyat led from start to finish from pole position to record a dominant 4.6-second victory over Carlin duo Alexander Sims and Nick Yelloly.

With erstwhile points leader Facu Regalia coming home seventh on the road, Kvyat had already done enough to be crowned champion before Regalia was dropped to 16th for ignoring yellow flags and exceeding track limits after a wild drive.

Conor Daly pulled off a fine move on Patric Niederhauser at Turn 2 on lap five to grab fourth, and chased Yelloly to the finish line.

Niederhauser failed to finish after a clash with Carlos Sainz Jr on the curving straight towards Turn 11 broke his steering and sent Sainz into a wild spin.

Jack Harvey finished fifth, ahead of series debutant Dean Stoneman, Tio Ellinas, Patrick Kujala, the recovering Sainz and Dino Zamparelli.

Results - 14 laps:Pos  Driver               Team        Time/Gap 1.  Daniil Kvyat         MW Arden  29m40.145s 2.  Nick Yelloly         Carlin       +4.677s 3.  Alexander Sims       Carlin       +7.053s 4.  Conor Daly           ART          +7.411s 5.  Jack Harvey          ART          +8.333s 6.  Dean Stoneman        Koiranen    +14.900s 7.  Tio Ellinas          Manor       +18.235s 8.  Patrick Kujala       Koiranen    +26.882s 9.  Carlos Sainz Jr      MW Arden    +32.830s10.  Dino Zamparelli      Manor       +33.215s11.  Robert Visoiu        MW Arden    +34.100s12.  Giovanni Venturini   Trident     +34.781s13.  Kevin Korjus         Koiranen    +35.528s14.  Alex Fontana         Jenzer      +36.041s15.  Emanuele Zonzini     Trident     +36.045s16.  Facu Regalia         ART         +36.957s17.  Robert Cregan        Trident     +38.133s18.  Adderly Fong         Status      +39.707s19.  Luis Sa Silva        Carlin      +40.829s20.  Alice Powell         Bamboo      +41.277s21.  Ryan Cullen          Manor       +44.591s22.  Josh Webster         Status      +49.911s23.  Samin Gomez          Jenzer    +1m30.470s24.  Jimmy Eriksson       Status        +1 lap                                   Retirements:                            Carmen Jorda         Bamboo        4 laps     Patric Niederhauser  Jenzer        0 laps

MX-5 Cup | Round 1 – Daytona | Livestream