Farfus fastest in Zandvoort DTM practice

Farfus fastest in Zandvoort DTM practice


Farfus fastest in Zandvoort DTM practice


Augusto Farfus maintained his push for the DTM title by going fastest in practice for the penultimate round of the season at Zandvoort.

The RBM BMW driver, who is the only man that can deny Mike Rockenfeller this year’s championship, ran inside the top five for most of the session, but hit the front with just eight minutes to go. His 1m31.904s lap knocked long-time leader Edoardo Mortara off the top spot by just over a tenth of a second.

Mortara blotted his copybook with a spin exiting the banked Tarzan corner late in the session, the Rosberg Audi driver momentarily blocking the track as he came to a halt and tried to engage a gear.

Third quickest was Abt Audi driver Adrien Tambay, who recovered from an early trip through the gravel at, ironically, the Audi S, to set his time, while Marco Wittmann and Martin Tomczyk completed the top five for, respectively, the MTEK and RMG BMW teams.

Rockenfeller was sixth fastest in his Phoenix Audi with 2012 title winner Bruno Spengler and two-time champion Timo Scheider next up.

Andy Priaulx was an encouraging 11th in his second RMG BMW while fellow Britons Jamie Green and Gary Paffett were only 14th and 18th.

Pos Driver              Car               Time        Gap    Laps 1. Augusto Farfus      RBM BMW           1m31.904s           37 2. Edoardo Mortara     Rosberg Audi      1m32.088s  +0.184s  22 3. Adrien Tambay       Abt Audi          1m32.138s  +0.234s  35 4. Marco Wittmann      MTEK BMW          1m32.193s  +0.289s  34 5. Martin Tomczyk      RMG BMW           1m32.204s  +0.300s  25 6. Mike Rockenfeller   Phoenix Audi      1m32.204s  +0.300s  37 7. Bruno Spengler      Schnitzer BMW     1m32.204s  +0.300s  35 8. Timo Scheider       Abt Audi          1m32.247s  +0.343s  38 9. Miguel Molina       Phoenix Audi      1m32.390s  +0.486s  3510. Christian Vietoris  HWA Mercedes      1m32.395s  +0.491s  3811. Andy Priaulx        RMG BMW           1m32.411s  +0.507s  3512. Filipe Albuquerque  Rosberg Audi      1m32.450s  +0.546s  3613. Mattias Ekstrom     Abt Audi          1m32.491s  +0.587s  3414. Jamie Green         Abt Audi          1m32.507s  +0.603s  3915. Dirk Werner         Schnitzer BMW     1m32.530s  +0.626s  3616. Timo Glock          MTEK BMW          1m32.539s  +0.635s  3617. Joey Hand           RBM BMW           1m32.542s  +0.638s  3418. Gary Paffett        HWA Mercedes      1m32.727s  +0.823s  3319. Roberto Merhi       HWA Mercedes      1m32.862s  +0.958s  3820. Daniel Juncadella   Mucke Mercedes    1m32.945s  +1.041s  4121. Pascal Wehrlein     Mucke Mercedes    1m32.953s  +1.049s  3722. Robert Wickens      HWA Mercedes      1m33.022s  +1.118s  30