IndyCar's Dragon to enter Formula E

IndyCar's Dragon to enter Formula E

Formula E

IndyCar's Dragon to enter Formula E


Dragon Racing has become the second IndyCar Series team to commit to Formula E. Jay Penske’s squad joins IndyCar rival Andretti Autosport plus the Drayson and China teams in the lineup for the FIA’s new all-electric series in 2014.

“It’s an honor for Dragon Racing to have been selected as one of the founding teams in Formula E,” said Penske. “Formula E symbolizes a vision for the future of motorsports and the automotive industry, while directly appealing to a new generation of global race fans.

“Formula E offers a tremendous opportunity for our many technology and media partners, and we look forward to its inevitable growth and ascendancy over the next decade.”

Dragon made its IndyCar debut at the 2007 Indianapolis 500 as Luczo Dragon Racing, running Ryan Briscoe to fifth place. The team took Raphael Matos to the 2009 rookie crown, then became De Ferran Dragon Racing when it joined forces with Gil de Ferran for ’10.

That alliance proved short-lived, but Penske resumed under the Dragon banner during 2011 and now fields two full-time IndyCar entries for four-time Champ Car champion Sebastien Bourdais and Sebastian Saavedra.