Davison earns Sandown V8 pole with win

Davison earns Sandown V8 pole with win

Supercars Championship

Davison earns Sandown V8 pole with win


Will Davison and FPR Ford co-driver Steve Owen will start on pole position for V8 Supercars’ Sandown 500 on Sunday.

The duo secured pole after Davison beat Triple Eight’s points leader Jamie Whincup to victory in a relatively incident-free second qualifying heat.

Craig Lowndes and Mark Winterbottom will share the second row, meaning a top-four lockout for the championship’s lead quartet.

Davison got the jump on Whincup away from the line, and from there managed to control the 20-lap race to set up pole for tomorrow’s race, which forms the first part of the newly established Endurance Cup.

Behind the lead duo Lowndes jumped Chaz Mostert and Garth Tander the latter of whom made a terrible getaway to move into a third place he would ultimately preserve for the remainder of the race. Mostert ran in fourth until the penultimate lap, when Winterbottom was able to pick him off.

HRT’s Tander, meanwhile, dropped from fourth to 17th, ran off the road on lap five but was still able to fight his way through to 13th at the flag, right on the tail of Alexandre Premat.

It was a bad race too for both Brad Jones men, as Fabian Coulthard and Jason Bright both missed out on the top 10. Coulthard, who comes into the weekend fifth in the championship, started from 11th and surrendered four places over the 20 laps to finish the race in 15th. Bright fought his way from 14th to 11th, directly behind Nissan’s Todd Kelly.

Tekno’s Shane van Gisbergen will start 14th, having picked off Coulthard in the final laps.

Results - 20 laps:Pos  Driver               Team/Car                      Time/Gap 1.  Will Davison         FPR Ford                   23m19.2166s 2.  Jamie Whincup        Triple Eight Holden           +5.6534s 3.  Craig Lowndes        Triple Eight Holden           +6.2144s 4.  Mark Winterbottom    FPR Ford                      +8.5295s 5.  Chaz Mostert         Dick Johnson Ford             +9.0362s 6.  David Reynolds       Rod Nash/FPR Ford             +9.3283s 7.  James Courtney       HRT Holden                    +9.8601s 8.  Tim Slade            Rosenberg/Erebus Mercedes    +10.2364s 9.  Scott McLaughlin     GRM Holden                   +14.8995s10.  Todd Kelly           Nissan                       +17.0720s11.  Jason Bright         Brad Jones Holden            +17.6417s12.  Alexandre Premat     GRM Holden                   +18.3745s13.  Garth Tander         HRT Holden                   +18.6760s14.  Shane van Gisbergen  Tekno Holden                 +19.2487s15.  Fabian Coulthard     Brad Jones Holden            +23.2755s16.  Russell Ingall       Walkinshaw/HRT Holden        +28.8478s17.  Tony D'Alberto       D'Alberto Holden             +29.0967s18.  David Wall           Britek/BJR Holden            +29.8171s19.  Lee Holdsworth       Erebus Mercedes              +30.6143s20.  James Moffat         Nissan                       +31.7412s21.  Rick Kelly           Nissan                       +32.1141s22.  Tim Blanchard        Dick Johnson Ford            +32.5073s23.  Jonathon Webb        Tekno Holden                 +33.8746s24.  Michael Caruso       Nissan                       +33.9821s25.  Maro Engel           Erebus Mercedes              +34.0918s26.  Scott Pye            Dumbrell Holden              +43.1789s27.  Alex Davison         Schwerkolt/FPR Ford             +1 lapRetirements:   Dean Fiore           Dumbrell Holden              +35.2655s