Davison hunts down Lowndes for win

Davison hunts down Lowndes for win


Davison hunts down Lowndes for win


Will Davison led a Ford Performance Racing one-two in the first Townsville V8 Supercars race after a late pursuit of Craig Lowndes.

Triple 8 had struggled in qualifying on hard tyres, with Lowndes only 12th on the grid and his championship-leading teammate Jamie Whincup back in 16th. It therefore gambled on putting Lowndes on soft tires for the first stint, making him unique in the field.

Davison stormed through to first within 10 laps, and by the half-distance pit stops his lead was 21 seconds. At that stage his main rival was Shane van Gisbergen. The Tekno driver had taken pole, lost out to Davison off the line, then dived back past the Ford in a final-corner move that let Fabian Coulthard through as well.

Davison soon repassed the Brad Jones Holden, but van Gisbergen inched away. Then it all fell apart at the Tekno pit stop. Van Gisbergen was accidentally short-fueled and also incurred a penalty for coming off the jacks with the fuel hose still attached. A likely win became a 17th-place finish.

Davison and teammate Mark Winterbottom therefore led the chase of Lowndes, now the only man on hards. The leader’s big cushion soon fell away, with Davison taking the lead 13 laps from the end and Winterbottom soon following.

Coulthard had lost out to Winterbottom when the FPR car took softs a few laps early, but passed Lowndes to claim the final podium spot.

Lowndes hung on ahead of Jason Bright and James Courtney to retain fourth. Whincup fought through to seventh.

Results - 70 laps:

Pos  Driver               Team/Car                        Time/Gap
 1.  Will Davison         FPR Ford                   1h28m39.5967s
 2.  Mark Winterbottom    FPR Ford                        +4.0098s
 3.  Fabian Coulthard     Brad Jones Holden              +15.4676s
 4.  Craig Lowndes        Triple 8 Holden                +17.7900s
 5.  Jason Bright         Brad Jones Holden              +19.3146s
 6.  James Courtney       HRT Holden                     +26.6021s
 7.  Jamie Whincup        Triple 8 Holden                +30.0030s
 8.  Garth Tander         HRT Holden                     +32.3723s
 9.  Alex Davison         Schwerkolt/FPR Ford            +32.8526s
10.  Chaz Mostert         Dick Johnson Ford              +37.7396s
11.  David Reynolds       Rod Nash/FPR Ford              +37.9882s
12.  Rick Kelly           Nissan                         +48.7332s
13.  Alexandre Premat     GRM Holden                     +50.5834s
14.  Scott McLaughlin     GRM Holden                     +51.6499s
15.  James Moffat         Nissan                         +58.0549s
16.  Todd Kelly           Nissan                       +1m02.1387s
17.  Shane van Gisbergen  Tekno Holden                 +1m03.1458s
18.  Michael Caruso       Nissan                       +1m08.3986s
19.  Maro Engel           Erebus Mercedes              +1m12.0292s
20.  Dean Fiore           Dumbrell Holden                   +1 lap
21.  David Wall           Britek/BJR Holden                +2 laps
22.  Jonathon Webb        Tekno Holden                     +2 laps
23.  Tim Blanchard        Dick Johnson Ford                +2 laps
24.  Scott Pye            Dumbrell Holden                  +2 laps
25.  Tony D'Alberto       D'Alberto Holden                 +4 laps


     Russell Ingall       Walkinshaw/HRT Holden            53 laps
     Lee Holdsworth       Erebus Mercedes                  52 laps
     Tim Slade            Rosenberg/Erebus Mercedes        34 laps