Marquez on top again in Indy MotoGP practice two

Marquez on top again in Indy MotoGP practice two


Marquez on top again in Indy MotoGP practice two


Marc Marquez led an all-Honda top three as he remained fastest in second MotoGP practice at Indianapolis. The morning pacesetter got his time down to a 1m39.502s this time as he led Honda teammate Dani Pedrosa

The latter had a muted start to the day as he admitted he was still stiff from recent injuries in practice one. But he was straight up to speed in the second session and for a while was half a second quicker than the rest. Pedrosa’s 1m39.582s was reeled in by the rest, though, with third-placed Stefan Bradl getting to within 0.099sec.

Jorge Lorenzo could only manage fourth, 0.253sec off the pace on the best Yamaha. His stablemates Cal Crutchlow and Valentino Rossi completed the top six, just ahead of Alvaro Bautista. Rossi had a brief off at Turn 13 late in the session.

Bradley Smith was eighth, followed by the two factory Ducatis. Aleix Espargaro was top CRT man in 11th.

Karel Abraham was cleared to continue after his violent morning accident and was 22nd. He did not sustain any broken bones, though he did damage muscle in his shoulder. Bradl had a minor fall early in practice two, with Hiroshi Aoyama also crashing later on. But the only actual interruption was a red flag for a displaced marker cone on the approach to Turn 1.

Pos  Rider             Team/Bike             Time       Gap 1.  Marc Marquez      Honda                 1m39.502s 2.  Dani Pedrosa      Honda                 1m39.582s  +0.080s 3.  Stefan Bradl      LCR Honda             1m39.681s  +0.179s 4.  Jorge Lorenzo     Yamaha                1m39.765s  +0.263s 5.  Cal Crutchlow     Tech 3 Yamaha         1m39.813s  +0.311s 6.  Valentino Rossi   Yamaha                1m40.084s  +0.582s 7.  Alvaro Bautista   Gresini Honda         1m40.087s  +0.585s 8.  Bradley Smith     Tech 3 Yamaha         1m40.240s  +0.738s 9.  Nicky Hayden      Ducati                1m40.433s  +0.931s10.  Andrea Dovizioso  Ducati                1m40.552s  +1.050s11.  Aleix Espargaro   Aspar Aprilia         1m40.750s  +1.248s12.  Danilo Petrucci   Ioda-Suter-BMW        1m41.099s  +1.597s13.  Ben Spies         Pramac Ducati         1m41.145s  +1.643s14.  Andrea Iannone    Pramac Ducati         1m41.444s  +1.942s15.  Claudio Corti     Forward FTR-Kawasaki  1m41.552s  +2.050s16.  Colin Edwards     Forward FTR-Kawasaki  1m41.588s  +2.086s17.  Hector Barbera    Avintia FTR-Kawasaki  1m41.814s  +2.312s18.  Randy de Puniet   Aspar Aprilia         1m41.956s  +2.454s19.  Yonny Hernandez   PBM Aprilia           1m42.088s  +2.586s20.  Hiroshi Aoyama    Avintia FTR-Kawasaki  1m42.808s  +3.306s21.  Lukas Pesek       Ioda-Suter-BMW        1m42.828s  +3.326s22.  Karel Abraham     Cardion Aprilia       1m42.927s  +3.425s23.  Bryan Staring     Gresini FTR-Honda     1m43.253s  +3.751s24.  Michael Laverty   PBM-Aprilia           1m43.741s  +4.239s25.  Blake Young       Attack APR-Kawasaki   1m45.590s  +6.088s