Visoiu leads Sainz in Arden one-two

Visoiu leads Sainz in Arden one-two

Formula 3

Visoiu leads Sainz in Arden one-two


Robert Visoiu led an MW Arden 1-2 sweep in a processional GP3 sprint race in Hungary.

The Romanian led every one of the 17 laps and was never under threat from his fast-starting teammate Carlos Sainz Jr. despite a late safety car erasing his advantage. Such was Visoiu’s pace, during the two-lap final dash to the flag, he built up a 4.1-second winning margin.

Aside from the start, there was not a single change of position among the point-paying places.

Kevin Korjus took third for Koiranen, Facu Regalia fourth for ART, Jack Harvey fifth for ART.

With points leader Tio Ellinas making up two positions to finish 10th, he still failed to score a point, which has allowed Regalia and Conor Daly, who took the final point in eighth, to close up in the championship.

Saturday’s winner Aaro Vainio lost a place at the start, and finished ninth.

Results - 17 laps:Pos  Driver               Team        Time/Gap 1.  Robert Visoiu        MW Arden  23m59.150s 2.  Carlos Sainz Jr      MW Arden     +4.168s 3.  Kevin Korjus         Koiranen     +4.848s 4.  Facu Regalia         ART          +5.277s 5.  Jack Harvey          ART          +5.726s 6.  Giovanni Venturini   Trident      +6.177s 7.  Daniil Kvyat         MW Arden     +6.936s 8.  Conor Daly           ART          +7.424s 9.  Aaro Vainio          Koiranen     +7.847s10.  Tio Ellinas          Manor        +8.718s11.  Patrick Kujala       Koiranen    +11.603s12.  Jimmy Eriksson       Status      +14.318s13.  Nick Yelloly         Carlin      +15.622s14.  Samin Gomez          Jenzer      +15.941s15.  Patric Niederhauser  Jenzer      +16.176s16.  Eric Lichtenstein    Carlin      +16.588s17.  Adderly Fong         Status      +17.686s18.  David Fumanelli      Trident     +17.898s19.  Alex Fontana         Jenzer      +18.761s20.  Josh Webster         Status      +20.626s21.  Dino Zamparelli      Manor       +21.377s22.  Carmen Jorda         Bamboo      +21.725s23.  Luis Sa Silva        Carlin      +22.655sRetirements:     Melville McKee       Bamboo       12 laps     Lewis Williamson     Bamboo       12 laps     Emanuele Zonzini     Trident       2 laps     Ryan Cullen          Manor         2 laps