Vainio victorious in Hungary GP3

Vainio victorious in Hungary GP3

Formula 3

Vainio victorious in Hungary GP3


Aaro Vainio completed a lights-to-flag victory in the opening GP3 race in Hungary.

The Korainen racer made a good start, keeping ART’s Conor Daly behind through the first corner. Over the next half a dozen laps he stretched the lead to over 2.5 seconds, before Daly started to reel him in. But the gap was never under a second until the race was neutralized with just four laps to go.

The late safety car was brought out by a nasty looking crash between Luis Sa Silva and Emanuele Zonzini, which ended with the latter flying over the back of the former’s car on the exit of Turn 1. Both drivers were unhurt in the incident.

At the restart, Daly made an excellent exit through the final turn, and managed to run side-by-side with Vainio through Turn 2. But the Finn held on to secure a great win.

Russian Daniil Kvyat claimed third for MW Arden, while Jack Harvey was fourth for ART.

Carlos Sainz Jr. made a stunning start, which helped him to fifth, while sixth for ART’s Facu Regalia owed much to his great getaway too.

Points leader Tio Ellinas failed to score for the first time this season for Manor following a fraught afternoon.

In a race of few overtaking moves, the main action took place for the final points-paying positions. Kevin Lorjus took seventh, Robert Visoiu eighth, Patrick Niederhauser ninth and Giovanni Venturini 10th and the final point.

Results - 17 laps:Pos  Driver               Team          Time/Gap	 1.  Aaro Vainio          Koiranen    29m17.213s 2.  Conor Daly           ART            +0.691s 3.  Daniil Kvyat         MW Arden       +4.853s 4.  Jack Harvey          ART            +7.061s 5.  Carlos Sainz Jr      MW Arden       +7.262s 6.  Facu Regalia         ART            +7.507s 7.  Kevin Korjus         Koiranen       +8.588s 8.  Robert Visoiu        MW Arden       +9.307s 9.  Patric Niederhauser  Jenzer        +10.295s10.  Giovanni Venturini   Trident       +11.550s11.  Alex Fontana         Jenzer        +12.736s12.  Tio Ellinas          Manor         +13.175s13.  Dino Zamparelli      Manor         +14.139s14.  Jimmy Eriksson       Status        +16.751s15.  Patrick Kujala       Koiranen      +18.645s16.  Nick Yelloly         Carlin        +18.793s17.  David Fumanelli      Trident       +19.245s18.  Melville McKee       Bamboo        +21.309s19.  Eric Lichtenstein    Carlin        +21.428s20.  Samin Gomez          Jenzer        +21.725s21.  Adderly Fong         Status        +22.012s22.  Josh Webster         Status        +22.372s23.  Carmen Jorda         Bamboo        +22.793s24.  Lewis Williamson     Bamboo        +23.417sRetirements:        Driver            Team                Laps        Luis Sa Silva     Carlin              12        Emanuele Zonzini  Trident             12        Josh Webster      Status              6