McLaughlin claims Queensland V8 win

McLaughlin claims Queensland V8 win

Supercars Championship

McLaughlin claims Queensland V8 win


Rising V8 Supercars star Scott McLaughlin claimed the third win of his rookie season in race two of the Queensland Raceway weekend.

McLaughlin had already taken wins in the non-championship Melbourne Formula 1 support event and the Pukekohe points round. The Garry Rogers Holden beat pole-sitting champion Jamie Whincup’s Triple 8 Commodore off the line on a slightly damp track.

The circuit very rapidly dried and McLaughlin was able to hold Whincup at arm’s length throughout. He was untroubled by a safety car to retrieve debris from Lee Holdsworth’s Mercedes, ultimately winning by 0.6 second.

James Courtney celebrated his new Holden Racing Team deal with a podium, as he shadowed the leaders in third.

Fabian Coulthard emerged from a wild early gaggle to take a lonely fourth. His Brad Jones Holden teammate Jason Bright grabbed fifth from star rookie Chaz Mostert on the line.

Mostert had qualified a stunning fourth and briefly jumped to second on lap one before being elbowed back. Ford Performance Racing duo Will Davison and Mark Winterbottom and Whincup’s team-mate Craig Lowndes all had underwhelming qualifying sessions and could not recover. They finished ninth, 10th and 12th, with a similarly disappointed Garth Tander among them in 11th.

Pos  Driver               Team/Car                      Time/Gap 1.  Scott McLaughlin     GRM Holden                 39m34.7532s 2.  Jamie Whincup        Triple 8 Holden               +0.6989s 3.  James Courtney       HRT Holden                    +2.4137s 4.  Fabian Coulthard     Brad Jones Holden             +5.9757s 5.  Jason Bright         Brad Jones Holden             +8.6228s 6.  Chaz Mostert         Dick Johnson Ford             +8.6395s 7.  Alex Davison         Schwerkolt/FPR Ford          +14.2398s 8.  David Reynolds       Rod Nash/FPR Ford            +18.6166s 9.  Will Davison         FPR Ford                     +18.9585s10.  Mark Winterbottom    FPR Ford                     +19.1623s11.  Garth Tander         HRT Holden                   +20.1390s12.  Craig Lowndes        Triple 8 Holden              +20.8702s13.  Tim Slade            Rosenberg/Erebus Mercedes    +21.6127s14.  Alexandre Premat     GRM Holden                   +22.8117s15.  Jonathon Webb        Tekno Holden                 +23.9540s16.  David Wall           Britek/BJR Holden            +24.0870s17.  Shane van Gisbergen  Tekno Holden                 +25.2683s18.  Tony D'Alberto       D'Alberto Holden             +26.0855s19.  Tim Blanchard        Dick Johnson Ford            +26.7501s20.  Russel Ingall        Walkinshaw/HRT Holden        +26.8486s21.  Rick Kelly           Nissan                       +30.1338s22.  Todd Kelly           Nissan                       +30.4490s23.  James Moffat         Nissan                       +31.9247s24.  Michael Caruso       Nissan                       +32.5983s25.  Scott Pye            Dumbrell Holden              +34.4602s26.  Dean Fiore           Dumbrell Holden              +36.8342s27.  Maro Engel           Erebus Mercedes              +38.7258sRetirements:     Lee Holdsworth       Erebus Mercedes                 5 laps