Toyota retains driver lineup for 2014

Toyota retains driver lineup for 2014


Toyota retains driver lineup for 2014


Toyota will go into next year’s World Endurance Championship with an unchanged driver lineup.

The Japanese manufacturer has re-signed all six of its existing drivers, which means that Alex Wurz, Nicolas Lapierre, Kazuki Nakajima, Anthony Davidson, Stephane Sarrazin and Sebastien Buemi will all remain with the team for a third consecutive season.

A spokesman for the Toyota Motorsport GmbH team said: “There are no doubts about the speed of any of our drivers and they all work well together. There was no reason for any change.”

Lapierre said: “I’m happy at Toyota and in a good situation there. It is good to know my future so early. With the new rules and our new hybrid system, I believe we will be competitive. I think we can win the Le Mans 24 Hours next year.”

The Toyota spokesman said that the early signing of its driver lineup showed the manufacturer’s commitment to the WEC and the LMP1 category. Toyota’s intent is to run two cars in the full championship, but it has yet to announce the full extent of its program. It confirmed on Friday morning that it will only run a solo TS030 Hybrid in all but the Japanese round of the remaining five 2013 WEC races.

The 2014 Toyota is not expected to run until early next January.