Berlin completes Formula E calendar

Berlin completes Formula E calendar


Berlin completes Formula E calendar


Berlin has been revealed as the final city that will host a round of the Formula E championship when the series kicks off in 2014.

The German capital is the third European city to join the series alongside London and Rome, while U.S. rounds in Los Angeles and Miami are also expected.

The new fully electric racing series will run from September 2014 to June 2015, with the calendar including 10 events, all on street circuits. Berlin’s circuit will be built within the Apron section of the former Tempelhof Airport.

“We are delighted to be in Berlin and very grateful to the Senator and to the Berlin authorities for welcoming our championship to their city,” said series boss Alejandro Agag. “With more than 1,200 electric vehicles and over 220 public charging points already in circulation, Berlin is leading the way in Europe for innovation and sustainable mobility, which is why we selected it as a host city for Formula E.”

The final Formula E calendar will feature London, Rome, Los Angeles, Miami, Beijing, Rio de Janeiro, Buenos Aires, Putrajaya, Bangkok, and Berlin. It will be presented to the FIA’s World Motor Sport Council for approval in September.