WTR completes Rolex 24 At Daytona hat trick with new Acura

Michael Levitt/Motorsport Images

WTR completes Rolex 24 At Daytona hat trick with new Acura


WTR completes Rolex 24 At Daytona hat trick with new Acura


It was a frustrating day for the WeatherTech Racing Porsche 911 RSR-19 of Cooper MacNeil, Gianmaria Bruni, Kevin Estre and Richard Lietz. Estre was tagged from behind by Spengler coming down to the green flag, resulted in substantial rear-end damage that led to an early trip to the garage. Rejoining the race 13 laps down, the team came from last overall to place 17th, sixth in GTLM.

GTLM will be replaced by GTD Pro in 2022.

Winward Racing crafted a breakthrough for Mercedes and its AMG GT3. Richard Dole/Motorsport Images

Mercedes-AMG took its first Rolex 24 class victory in GTD. Maro Engel, Russell Ward, Indy Dontje and Phillip Ellis won in the No. 57 Winward Racing/Techemet Mercedes-AMG GT3, followed by the No. 75 Sun Energy 1 Mercedes of Raffaele Marciello, Kenny Habul, Mikael Grenier and Luca Stolz. Completing the podium was the No. 1 Total Lubricants Lamborghini Huracan GT3 of defending class winner Paul Miller Racing, driven by Andrea Caldarelli, Madison Snow, Bryan Sellers and Corey Lewis.

The class featured a torrid battle between the No. 57 Mercedes and the No. 21 AF Corse Ferrari 488 GT3 of Nicklas Nielsen, Daniel Serra Matteo Cressoni and Simon Mann, which ended in the 20th hour when the two cars had contact in Turn 1, putting Cressoni into the wall. They went on to finish eighth.

Era Motorsport fought all the way to take home LMP2 honors. Richard Dole/Motorsport Images

Paul-Loup Chatin prevailed in a back-and-forth final hour to win in LMP2 driving the No. 18 WIN Autosport ORECA LMP2-07-Gibson co-driven by Ryan Dalziel, Kyle Tilley and Dwight Merriman. Gabriel Aubry was 19.513s back in the No. 8 Tower Motorsport ORECA co-driven by John Farano, Matthieu Vaxiviere, and Tim Buret. Third, four laps back, was the No. 82 DragonSpeed USA ORECA of Christopher Mies, Eric Lux, Devlin Defrancesco and Fabien Schiller.

IndyCar veteran Pigot became an IMSA enduro winner with Riley Motorsports Ligier JS P320, LMP3. Jake Galstad/Motorsports Images

Spencer Pigot finished up in a dominant victory in the debut of the LMP3 class, driving the No. 74 Riley Motorsports/74 Ranch Resort Ligier JS P320 shared by Gar Robinson, Oliver Askew and Scott Andrews. Joao Barbosa took second in the No. 33 Sean Creech Motorsports Ligier, three laps down, co-driving with Dr. Lance Willsey, Yann Clairay and Wayne Boyd.


UP NEXT: The WeatherTech Championship continues with the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring on Saturday, March 20.