Wayne Taylor Racing takes Petit Le Mans win after late collision between leaders

Michael Levitt/Motorsport Images

Wayne Taylor Racing takes Petit Le Mans win after late collision between leaders


Wayne Taylor Racing takes Petit Le Mans win after late collision between leaders


Tristan Vautier, Loic Duval and Sebastien Bourdais finished fourth in the No. 5 JDC/Miller Motorsports Cadillac, the only other car to complete 460 laps.

Both Multimatic-prepared Mazda RT-24Ps ran in contention before going to the garage following incidents. Tristan Nunez was leading near the end of green-flag stops at the halfway point when he got together with Alessandro Balzan in the No. 63 WeatherTech Ferrari 488 GT3 Evo, sending Nunez into the tires and then to the garage.

The race was slowed by six cautions, with three hours, minutes run under the green flag prior to the two late-race incidents.

Major change up front also figured in the LMP2 class as Starworks surged to victory. Michael Levitt/Motorsport Images

In LMP2, the No. 8 Tower Motorsport by Starworks ORECA of John Farano, Mikkel Jensen and Job van Uitert came from two laps down to take the lead in the final hour and won when its toughest rival went to the paddock. The No. 52 PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports ORECA LMP2 07-Gibson of Patrick Kelly, Simon Trummer and Scott Huffaker dominated the event. That was the lone retirement in the class, with the two remaining LMP2 cars finishing in the top eight overall.

GTLM also saw the complexion of the race change in the final hour, with the No. 911 Porsche 911 RSR-19 winning when the dominating No. 24 BMW had an extra stop due to a trip through the grass.

Fred Makowiecki, Nick Tandy and Matt Campbell went on to post their first victory of the season, winning at Porsche’s home track.

More late-night magic made winners of Nick Tandy, Fred Makowiecki and Matt Campbell. Michael Levitt/Motorsport Images

Antonio Garcia, Jordan Taylor and Nicky Catsburg took second in the No. 3 Corvette C8.R, followed by Jesse Krohn, John Edwards and Augusto Farfus in the No.24 Team RLL BMW M8 GTE. Krohn put the BMW into the lead when he passed both Corvettes on a single straight shortly after the two-hour mark. The team then dominated up until Farfus’ off-track excursion with 32 minutes remaining.

In GTD, Jeff Westphal led the opening 20 laps and the final 40 in a victory for the No. 63 Scuderia Corsa WeatherTech Ferrari 488 GT3 Evo co-driven by Cooper MacNeil and Alessandro Balzan. The key move was Westphal’s pass of Jack Hawksworth with 1h7m remaining. It was the team’s first victory of the season, and fourth for Ferrari at Petit Le Mans over the last five years.

Petit Le Mans continues to be a happy hunting ground for Scuderia Corsa and its Ferrari 488 GT3. Richard Dole/Motorsport Images

Jack Hawksworth finished second in the No. 14 AIM Vasser Sullivan Lexus RC F GT3 co-driven by Aaron Telitz and Michael De Quesada, followed by Andy Lally, John Potter and Spencer Pumpelly in the No. 44 GRT Magnus Lamborghini Huracan GT3.


UP NEXT: The WeatherTech Championship continues at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca on Sunday, Nov. 1.

MX-5 Cup | Round 12 – VIR