40-car TC America field primed for action at Sonoma Raceway

40-car TC America field primed for action at Sonoma Raceway

SRO America

40-car TC America field primed for action at Sonoma Raceway


A strong 40-car TC America field is ready to get back into action June 7-9 as the series heads to California and Sonoma Raceway’s 12-turn, 2.52-mile road course. The field features three former series champions and machinery from 10 of the world’s top manufacturers. TCR and TCA will combine for a pair of 40-minute sprint races while the TC field will take part in two standalone races of the same length.

FCP Euro Team heads TCR class heading into Sonoma

After a month-long break from competition having last raced at VIR in late April, teams and drivers are ready to renew their 2019 championship pursuits at Sonoma Raceway. FCP Euro enter the weekend with a commanding 31-point lead in the Team Championship – Michael Hurczyn will drive the team’s No. 71 Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR, while teammate Nate Vincent will get behind the wheel of the No. 72 machine. Hurczyn also holds a commanding lead in the driver’s championship standings with 112 points entering the weekend, Vincent trails with 85 points.

McCann Racing comes into the weekend second in the team championship and will have Michael McCann Jr. in the No. 3 Audi Sport RS3 LMS (DSG). The team’s second entry is the No. 27 Audi Sport RS3 LMS (DSG) with Christian Cole set to drive.

Copeland Motorsports enters the No. 12 Hyundai Veloster N TCR for Mason Filippi, while Harry Cheung will drive the No. 14 LAP Motorsports Honda Civic Type-R TCR. James Walker will pilot the No. 34 Risi Competizione Alfa Romeo Giulietta TCR.

Rounding out the field, the No. 99 VGMC Racing Honda Civic Type-R TCR will be driven by Victor Gonzalez, while the No. 15 eEuroparts.com ROWE Racing Audi Sport RS3 LMS (DSG) will be driven by Bryan Putt. Stephen Vajda will drive the No. 18 EXR Team by Premat Audi Sport RS3 LMS (DSG).

Johan Schwartz leads TC field heading into Sonoma

Former series champion Johan Schwartz (2015 TCB) comes into the weekend leading the TC driver’s standings with 90 points having won three of the first four races. He looks to continue that success driving the No. 80 Rooster Hall Racing BMW M240iR Cup. Steve Streimer will pilot the second Rooster Hall Racing entry – the No. 81 BMW M240iR Cup, while Richard Zulman will drive the team’s No. 84 entry. Rooster Hall Racing comes into the weekend leading in overall TC team points as well.

Toby Grahovec, the 2016 TC Driver’s Champion comes into the weekend second in the driver’s championship standings – he’ll drive the No. 26 Classic BMW M240iR Cup

Chandler Hull, currently sitting fourth in the TC driver standings, is entered to run the No. 94 Copart / BimmerWorld Racing BMW M240iR Cup. Hull’s teammate Cameron Evans will drive the No. 82 BMW M240iR Cup.

TechSport Racing brings a pair of Nissan 370z’s to the grid for Joseph Federl in the No. 23 machine – he sits fifth in the driver’s championship standings – and Mark Brummond in the No. 32 machine.

Auto Technic Racing brings three BMW M240iR Cup entries for Robert Nimkoff in the No. 20 machine, Mark Brummond in the No. 21 machine and Tom Capizzi in the No. 52 machine. Nimkoff sits sixth overall in the driver standings.

Rounding out the TC field is Shaun Webster in the No. 31 Hard Motorsport BMW M235iR Cup, Greg Nitzkowski in the No. 09 Dynamic Racing Solutions BMW M235iR Cup, and Murillo Racing’s Moisey Uretsky set to drive the No. 55 BMW M235iR Cup.

Wittmer Leads TCA Field Heading into Sonoma

Canadian Nick Wittmer has been a dominant force this season winning all four class races. He has also powered his team, TechSport Racing – the defending 2018 class champion – to the top of the team standings heading into the weekend. Wittmer will drive the No. 91 Subaru BRZ tS. The team will have a total of five cars running including Ben Bettenhausen in the No. 95 machine, Damon Surzyshyn in the No. 22 entry, Robert Crocker in the No. 24 Subaru and former TCB series champion P.J. Groenke in the No. 44 machine.

Second in the team championship standings is the MINI JCW Team – they bring a pair of MINI Cooper JCWs for Mark Pombo (No. 59) and Nate Norenberg (No. 60). Norenberg and Pombo sit fourth and fifth respectively in the driver’s championship standings. Sitting third in the team championship standings, X-Factor Racing brings four Honda Civic Si for Stephen Jeu (No. 02), Cole Ciraulo (No. 25), Taylor Hagler (No. 77) and Chris Haldeman (No. 69).

Mazda team Copeland Motorsports brings a couple of Mazda Global MX5 Cup NDs to Sonoma for Tyler Maxson (No. 74) and Dinah Weisberg (No. 50). Maxson looks to have a good Sonoma weekend to close the 49-point driver’s championship points gap Wittmer holds on him.

Rounding out the TCA field is the No. 07 Ives Motorsports Mazda Global MX5 Cup ND.1 for Jose DaSilva, Ian Lacy Racing’s No. 10 Mazda Global MX5 Cup ND.2 for Jenny Gannett, and the No. TEAMSALLY No. 780 Honda Civic Si with Sally McNulty behind the wheel.

On-track action begins Friday, June 7 with the first TC practice session of the weekend at 8:30 am Pacific, followed by the first TCR/TCA practice session at 10:20 am Pacific. The first TC race of the weekend is scheduled to go green Saturday, June 8 at 1:45 pm Pacific, while the first TCR/TCA race is scheduled later that day to start at 4:30 pm Pacific.  All races will be streamed live on TCAmerica.us, with race highlights on CBS Sports Network.

Follow all the action at tcamerica.us and across social channels:

Facebook: @touringcaramerica

Instagram & Twitter: @sroamerica


Official Series Hashtag: #TCamerica

Event Hashtag: #GTSonoma


Entry List

Event Schedule