Szymczak/Fassnacht GT4 America SprintX Race 2 winners

Szymczak/Fassnacht GT4 America SprintX Race 2 winners

SRO America

Szymczak/Fassnacht GT4 America SprintX Race 2 winners


Murillo Racing’s Christian Szymczak and Matthew Fassnacht took the overall win in Pirelli GT4 America SprintX series Race 2 at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park in their No. 34 Mercedes-AMG GT4.

Elivan Goulart (No. 27 KRUGSPEED Ginetta G55) took the lead from Szymczak, whose Mercedes had started on the pole, before the end of the first lap in the Saturday afternoon race, with Karl Wittmer (No. 24 Ian Lacy Racing Ford Mustang GT4) and Friday co-race winner Jason Hart (No. 47 NOLASPORT Porsche 718 Cayman CS MR) in pursuit.

By lap 5, the battle for second behind Goulart had grown increasingly intense: Through turn 10, Hart (who had charged up to second) and Szymczak came together, Hart’s Porsche ending up in the tire wall as Szymczak continued.

On Lap 16, race control issued a full-course yellow as Karl Thomson in the No. 36 Andretti Autosport McLaren 570S GT4 had gone off in Turn 5. On the Lap 19 restart, Goulart led Szymczak and Wittmer.

Ten laps later, Goulart had pulled away by 2.5 seconds. On lap 27, the pit window opened and Goulart pulled in, passing the lead over to Wittmer, with Greg Liefooghe, in the No. 19 Stephen Cameron Racing BMW M4 GT4, in close pursuit.

Liefooghe then assumed the lead a lap later when Wittmer came in for the driver change.

By lap 29, the pit window had closed, and all teams had changed over to their second drivers. Matthew Fassnacht led Anthony Geraci with Frank Gannett in third and Alan Brynjolfsson fourth. Brynjolfsson made contact with Gannett as he moved into third, but was subsequently given a drive-through penalty by race control for infringement.

By lap 32, Fassnacht had pushed his lead to six seconds over Geraci and Gannett into third overall, and that’s how they finished. At the checkered on lap 38, the Fassnacht/Szymczak team took the victory by 7.5 seconds ahead of Geraci/Goulart and Gannett/Wittmer. Rounding out the top five were Randy Mueller/James Clay (No. 3 Epic Motorsports BMW M4 GT4) and Sean Quinlan/Liefooghe.

Pirelli GT4 America SprintX teams and drivers now head to Sonoma Raceway June 7-9. Watch the SprintX races from CTMP on CBS Sports Network on June 1 at 3:30 pm EDT. Check your local listings for channel and encore presentation information.