Rowland wins Monaco E-Prix pole but will start fourth

Rowland wins Monaco E-Prix pole but will start fourth

Formula E

Rowland wins Monaco E-Prix pole but will start fourth


After a close battle in qualifying and the Super Pole session on the Monaco harborfront, it was Nissan e.dams driver Oliver Rowland who emerged with the fast time but DS Techeetah’s Jean-Eric Vergne will start at the front of the grid for today’s race. Rowland drops to fourth, despite clinching the Julius Baer Pole Position, due to a three-place grid drop following on from the last race in Paris.

Starting behind Vergne currently is Panasonic Jaguar Racing’s Mitch Evans, but he too came under investigation during the session. Depending on the result, Evans could drop further down the order. Set to start third is Mahindra Racing’s rookie driver Pascal Wehrlein.With Rowland down to fourth, home race hero and Venturi driver Massa holds a provisional fifth, followed by Nissan e.dams and former Monaco winner Sebastien Buemi rounding out the Super Pole group in sixth.

Just missing out on Super Pole was BMW i Andretti Motorsport’s Alex Sims, who provisionally starts the race in Monaco in seventh. Behind him is fellow Briton and Panasonic Jaguar Racing driver Alex Lynn, with BMW i Andretti Motorsport’s Antonio Felix da Costa in ninth. Rounding out the top 10 was Geox Dragon’s Jose-Maria Lopez.

Starting in 11th was HWA Racelab’s Stoffel Vandoorne, followed by Envision Virgin Racing’s Robin Frijns, Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler’s Lucas di Grassi and Geox Dragon’s Max Gunther in 14th.

Behind Gunther is Envision’s Sam Bird, who sits ahead of NIO’s Oliver Turvey and Audi’s Daniel Abt in 17th. Despite qualifying ahead of Abt, Mahindra’s Jerome d’Ambrosio will start the race in 20th, following his three-place grid penalty from Paris. Starting at the back of the pack will be DS Techeetah’s Andre Lotterer.

IndyCar Debrief