Kurt Busch leads opening Talladega practice

Image by Nigel Kinrade/LAT

Kurt Busch leads opening Talladega practice


Kurt Busch leads opening Talladega practice


Kurt Busch was fastest in opening Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series practice at Talladega Superspeedway, the first of eight drivers that cracked 202 mph.

Busch led the way at 202.671 mph (47.249 seconds). Second and third fastest, David Ragan and Erik Jones, ran the same lap time at 202.654 mph.

Completing the top five were Michael McDowell at 202.641 mph and Chase Elliott at 202.624 mph.

The rest of the drivers in the 202 mph range were William Byron (202.615 mph), Ryan Newman (202.495 mph), and Kyle Busch (202.068 mph).


Rounding out the top 10 were Ty Dillon at ninth fastest (201.481 mph), and Jimmie Johnson (201.219 mph).

Twenty-one of the 37 drivers who practiced cracked 200 mph.

There were no incidents in the session. Kevin Harvick, who was 11th fastest, ran 40 laps which were the most of any driver.

UP NEXT: Final practice at 3:35 CT.

IndyCar Debrief