More driver additions filling out Le Mans entry

Image by Nikolaz Godet/LAT

More driver additions filling out Le Mans entry

Le Mans/WEC

More driver additions filling out Le Mans entry


The entry list for the final round of the FIA WEC ‘Super Season’ at Le Mans is nearing completion.

The most recent version of the entry for June’s 24 Hours — which now features 62 cars — sees multiple driver slots filled, in addition to the recent news that Stoffel Vandorne will race in Jenson Button’s place in SMP Racing’s No. 11 BR1.

In LMP2, Alex Brundle is now confirmed in the No. 32 United Autosports Ligier alongside ELMS full season driving partner Ryan Cullen, though the third driver in the newly-added car is still an unknown. In ELMS competition this season, Brundle and Cullen are set to be joined by IMSA regular Will Owen for the remainder of the season.

In the sister car, meanwhile, Paul di Resta looks certain to complete the No. 22 crew alongside Phil Hanson and Filipe Albuquerque.

Another Ligier team with news is Polish outfit Inter Europol. Leo Roussel, who like Brundle raced a Ginetta LMP1 last year at Le Mans, was confirmed by the team at Paul Ricard to have a deal to join Kuba Smiechowski in the No. 34 Ligier. As it stands there’s no deal in place yet for the third driver.

Frenchman Norman Nato has been confirmed for RLR Msport’s No. 43 ORECA. And ex-F1 man Will Stevens will be added to the No. 23 Panis Barthez Ligier entry, his non-availability at Jackie Chan DC Racing (in its No. 38 ORECA) citing a prior contractual commitment with his regular ELMS team. Julien Canal is also believed to be locked in to complete the team


While only currently listing one driver, the Cetilar Racing Dallara, which will compete in the 2019/20 WEC season, is set to field Giorgio Sernagiotto and Andrea Belicchi alongside Roberto Lacorte.

Similarly, it looks certain to be the full-season ELMS line-up of Memo Rojas and Paul-Loup Chatin that will join Paul Lafargue in the No. 28 IDEC Sport ORECA.

In GTE Pro, the third drivers in Aston Martin Racing’s Vantages are still listed as TBA but are expected to be Darren Turner (No. 95) and Jonny Adam (No. 97).

In GTE Am, Come Ledogar will complete the three-man line-up for the Asian Le Mans Series GT Championship-winning Car Guy squad alongside Kei Cozzolino and Takeshi Kimura. During the team’s Asian Le Mans campaign, James Calado, who will race in Pro with AF Corse at Le Mans, drove in Ledogar’s seat.

The No. 78 Proton Competition Porsche 911 RSR meanwhile sees ex-Bentley and now AKKA ASP man Vincent Abril step in for his Le Mans 24 Hours debut alongside Louise Prette and his father Philippe in an all-Monegasque trio. In fact there are now five drivers from Monaco on the list, with Olivier Beretta and Stephane Richelmi also set to race.

Prette Jr. came close to gaining an auto entry for Le Mans last year with an LMP3 title run in the Asian Le Mans Series with former Le Mans class winner KCMG, only to lose the championship lead in dramatic fashion in the last 15 minutes of the final race of the season.