Corvette confirms Sebring WEC entry

Image by LePage/LAT

Corvette confirms Sebring WEC entry

Le Mans/WEC

Corvette confirms Sebring WEC entry


Corvette Racing will pull double duty at Sebring, bringing one C7.R to the GTE Pro class in Chevrolet’s home round at the FIA WEC 1000 Miles of Sebring.

The lone entry joins Corvette’s pair of full-season IMSA C7.Rs in the 12 Hours of Sebring. The team will therefore use all three C7.Rs it currently has available at the ‘Super Sebring’ meeting.

Jan Magnussen, Antonio Garcia and Mike Rockenfeller will race the Corvette in the WEC. The entry marks the team’s the third appearance in the Super Season after their Le Mans run was followed by a single-car effort at Shanghai in November. With the factory team’s expected return to Le Mans, that means Corvette Racing will have contested 50% of the 2018/19 races in the World Endurance Championship.

Sebring’s entry list, which was updated today, includes a raft of changes.

A big shakeup comes in LMP2 as Jackie Chan DC Racing’s No.37 ORECA 07 Gibson, which sits third in the class championship race, will finish the season with a new line-up.

The all-Malaysian line-up of Nabil Jeffri, Jazeman Jaafar and Weiron Tan will take no further part due to commercial issues “beyond the control of any of the drivers,” the team said in a statement.

The No. 37 will be raced at Sebring and Spa by former Ed Carpenter Racing IndyCar driver Jordan King, David Heinemeier Hansson, and ex-F1 man Will Stevens. With Stevens already signed with Panis Barthez Competition for Le Mans, his replacement will be naemd at a later date.

“The changes which we are announcing today have been forced upon the team by commercial and business complexities outside of its direct control,” said David Clark, director of Jackie Chan DC Racing x JOTA.

“We were left in a position where these changes had to be implemented and whilst this was a difficult process, it is in the best interests of the team.

“I would like to go on record in thanking Jazeman, Nabil and Weiron for their professionalism and dedication to the project over the five races that they were with the team. They proved to be a race-winning force and we wish them nothing but the very best for their futures in racing.

“Looking to the immediate future we are happy to welcome David, Jordan and Will to our team.”

In LMP1, there’s a key change at SMP Racing, with former F1 driver Sergey Sirotkin joining the team in place of Matevos Isaakyan in the team’s No. 17 BR1 to race alongside Stéphane Sarrazin and Egor Orudzhev. It will be Sirotkin’s second WEC start, his first being the 2017 24 Hours of Le Mans.

Reigning Super GT champion Jenson Button will not race at Sebring in the No. 11 due to racing commitments elsewhere; his replacement is set to be announced soon.

Another change in the LMP1 category is the previously announced addition of Nathanael Berthon in the No. 3 Rebellion Racing R13. He will team up with fellow countrymen Thomas Laurent and Gustavo Menezes.

As well as the addition of Corvette to GTE Pro, BMW Team MTEK has announced the third drivers for each of its M8 GTEs, with former Spa 24 winner and current Andretti BMW Formula E driver Alexander Sims joining Martin Tomczyk and Nicky Catsburg in the No. 81. Newly crowned Rolex 24 GTLM winner Augusto Farfus and Antonio Felix da Costa will be teamed with Bruno Spengler in the No. 82.

The only change in GTE Am is the confirmation that Aston Martin factory driver and 2017 GTE Pro Le Mans winner Jonny Adam will once again be part of TF Sport’s line-up with Salih Yoluc and Charlie Eastwood.