F1 confirms 2019 start times

Image by Joe Portlock/LAT

F1 confirms 2019 start times

Formula 1

F1 confirms 2019 start times


Formula 1 has confirmed the start times for races in 2019, with the schedule following a very similar format to last season.

Last year the sport introduced a slightly later start time in order to try and help television broadcasters, with races getting under way at ten minutes past the hour rather than on the hour as in previous seasons.

This approach will be maintained in 2019, with the only race seeing a different start time being the French Grand Prix. Last year’s race at Paul Ricard started at 4:10 p.m. local time to avoid a clash with a FIFA World Cup match, but without the soccer tournament taking place this year the race start in France has been moved forward an hour to 3:10 p.m.

All other races will start at the same local time as in 2018, with the Australian Grand Prix opening the season with a late afternoon slot at 4:10 p.m. in Melbourne, the same time as the fourth round in Azerbaijan will start.

There are two races that start close to sunset and finish under floodlights — the Bahrain Grand Prix at 6:10 p.m. and Abu Dhabi at 5:10 p.m. – while the Singapore Grand Prix remains the only full night race as it starts over an hour after sunset at 8:10 p.m.

The races in Mexico and the United States — still back-to-back but with Mexico first this year — will both start at 1:10 p.m local time, the earliest slots on the calendar.

The full schedule for all sessions is as follows (shown on 24-hour clock):

IndyCar Debrief