Race of Champions to Mexico City for 2019

Race of Champions to Mexico City for 2019

International Racing

Race of Champions to Mexico City for 2019


The Race Of Champions (ROC) is heading to Latin America for the first time in its history, with the announcement that Mexico City will host the next running of the all-star event.

ROC Mexico will be held on January 19-20, 2019 at the Foro Sol, the amphitheatre forming part of Mexico City’s Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez Formula 1 circuit. An invited group of the world’s top drivers will race in identical cars on ROC’s purpose-built track to be built entirely within the Foro Sol itself.

The Foro Sol will join a list of prestigious venues to have hosted ROC since 1988 – including Beijing’s Bird’s Nest and London’s Olympic stadiums, Stade de France in Paris, Wembley Stadium in London, Miami’s Marlins Park plus a wide range of exotic locations all over the world from Bangkok to Barbados to Riyadh.

Race of Champions at London’s Wembley Stadium. (Image by Colin McMaster/LAT)

“We are delighted to be bringing the Race Of Champions to Mexico City,” ROC President Fredrik Johnsson said. “The Foro Sol is an incredible arena to watch motorsport, and it’s no surprise that it has already reached iconic status with fans of Formula 1. It is a perfect location for ROC Mexico, where the greats of motorsport will show off all their skills in identical supercars on our purpose-built track.”

The Race Of Champions is run over two days: first comes the ROC Nations Cup (on Saturday, January 19) when drivers pair up in teams based on nationality to bid for the title of ‘World’s Fastest Nation.’ Then on Sunday January 20 it’s time for the Race Of Champions itself, when teamwork goes out of the window and it’s a flat-out battle for individual glory.

Drivers for the 2019 event have not yet been announced, but ROC has a rich record of attracting global superstars from every corner of motorsport. Formula 1 World Champions Michael Schumacher, Sebastian Vettel, Fernando Alonso and Jenson Button have raced against NASCAR stars Jeff Gordon, Jimmie Johnson and Busch brothers Kyle and Kurt, IndyCar’s Juan Pablo Montoya and Ryan Hunter-Reay, World Rally greats Sebastien Loeb, Sebastien Ogier and Colin McRae, as well as prominent figures from other classes including record Le Mans winner Tom Kristensen, X Games legend Travis Pastrana plus MotoGP icons Mick Doohan, Jorge Lorenzo and Valentino Rossi.