NASCAR updates chicane rules, penalties

NASCAR updates chicane rules, penalties

NASCAR

NASCAR updates chicane rules, penalties

NASCAR informed Xfinity and Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series teams Saturday morning of updated penalties for both races at the Charlotte road course.

  • If a driver misses or shortcuts the backstretch chicane he must come to a complete stop in the restart zone. This must be done on the same lap of the violation or the driver will be assessed a pass-through penalty.
  • If a driver misses or shortcuts the frontstretch chicane he must come to a complete stop on the apron near the start/finish. This must be done on the same lap of the violation or the driver will be assessed a pass-through penalty.
  • If a driver is deemed by NASCAR to have deliberately missed a chicane he will be assessed a pass-through penalty.
  • If a driver is judged to have missed a chicane to avoid an accident, it will be in NASCAR’s discretion to forgo penalties and adjust the lineup based on running position prior to the avoidance maneuver.

The definition of missing or shortcutting a chicane is when all four tires are on the non-track side of the red-and-white rumble strips.

NASCAR says the changes were made after feedback from teams and drivers after a full day of track activity on Friday.

 

More RACER
Home