IndyCar announces 2018-19 open test dates

Image by LAT

IndyCar announces 2018-19 open test dates


IndyCar announces 2018-19 open test dates


Three open tests — one in the at IndyCar’s newest venue and two during the season — are part of the 2018-19 IndyCar Series testing rules given to teams.

Circuit of The Americas will serve as the site for a two-day preseason test on Feb. 12-13, the only official gathering of IndyCar’s full-season entries before the season gets underway at St. Petersburg in March. New to the calendar for 2019, the road course is slotted second on the race schedule from March 22- 24.

Teams are scheduled to test on the 2.5-mile Indianapolis Motor Speedway oval on April 24, ahead of May’s 103rd running of the Indianapolis 500 on May 26. The third test will be at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca, which is back on the schedule in 2019 for the first time in 15 years. An open test day is scheduled on Sept. 19, three days before the season-ending race on Sept. 22.

The private testing period runs from Oct. 1, 2018-Sept. 11, 2019, with blackout periods around Thanksgiving and Christmas and within seven days of all race weekends except prior to the St. Petersburg opener. Each team is permitted three preseason test days that must be completed by March 4, 2019.

Full-season IndyCar Series rookie drivers are permitted two additional test days to be used by Sept. 11, 2019. New IndyCar Series teams are also granted two additional test days.

Full-season IndyCar Series teams may take advantage of an extra day to test current Indy Lights presented by Cooper Tires drivers. A team with at least one full-season entrant in both the IndyCar Series and Indy Lights is also accorded one extra test day.

Chevrolet and Honda each receive one engine manufacturer test day at any approved track other than the three where open tests will take place.