Mazda drivers are top picks to win Solo Nationals

Mazda drivers are top picks to win Solo Nationals

Mazda Motorsports

Mazda drivers are top picks to win Solo Nationals


SportsCar magazine has released its picks to win the 2018 Solo National Championships

Each year, SportsCar magazine, the publication for Sports Car Club of America members, does its best to name the top candidates for winning each class at the SCCA Solo National Championships held at Lincoln Airpark in Lincoln, Neb. This year’s list includes more than a dozen Mazda drivers as top picks, with many more noted as contenders.

In C Street, where about 80 percent of the entries are driving fourth-generation Miatas, John Hunter is the magazine’s pick to win, but Dave Ogburn III, Rick Cone, Andrew Pallota and D.J. Allesandrini are referenced as contenders, with newcomer to the class Darren Seltzer also getting a comment. In C Street Ladies, Tara Johns gets the nod, with Maria Mayorga also mentioned as someone to watch.

E Street is the home for the NA and NB Miatas in near-stock trim, and previous SCCA national champion Bartek Borowski is the top choice for winning the class in a ’99, although co-driver and defending champ Michael Ron is a contender as well. Others mentioned were Charles Matthews, Matt Waldbaum and Andrew Canak.

The majority of the picks to win are driving the well-known Miata roadster, but there are many other Mazda models competing, and two women are picked to win their class in Mazda sedans. Laura Harbor is predicted to win G Street Ladies in a Mazdaspeed3; in fact, SportsCar calls her “near unbeatable.” In E Street Prepared Ladies, dominated by pony cars, Johanna Foege is picked to win in Clint Griest’s Mazdaspeed6. Griest is mentioned as having a chance in the Open class as well.

The rest of the picks, though, are in some form of Miata…

Read the full story at