IndyCar, Texas Motor Speedway sign four-year deal

Image by IMS Photo

IndyCar, Texas Motor Speedway sign four-year deal


IndyCar, Texas Motor Speedway sign four-year deal


The longest-running IndyCar oval race besides Indianapolis will keep its consecutive streak going as Texas Motor Speedway has re-upped for four more years.

“Texas Motor Speedway is the second home of IndyCar racing, and we are thrilled to extend our partnership with the IndyCar Series and with DXC Technology,” said Texas Motor Speedway President Eddie Gossage, whose 1.5-mile oval began hosting the Indy Racing League in 1997. “We are pleased to have negotiated a sanction agreement that allows Texas Motor Speedway to move forward with IndyCar.”

The DXC Technology 600 will run two weeks after the Indianapolis 500 on Saturday night, June 8, and the weekend also includes its traditional companion race in the re-branded NASCAR Gander Outdoors Truck Series, the Rattlesnake 400, on Friday, June 7.

Texas hosted IndyCar’s first-ever superspeedway night race and has played out some drama such as A.J. Foyt slapping two-time Indy 500 winner Arie Luyendyk in Victory Lane in ’97 and Graham Rahal edging James Hinchcliffe by a record .0080s in 2016.

“So many great moments in this sport have occurred at Texas Motor Speedway,” said Gossage. “This is and always will be ‘America’s Original Nighttime IndyCar Race.’ Photo finishes and Victory Lane drama have been the standard over the years. No other track has seen as many Verizon IndyCar Series races over the last two-plus decades. I think Texas Motor Speedway has been good for IndyCar racing and IndyCar racing has been good for Texas Motor Speedway.”

It’s believed the state of Texas will host a pair of IndyCar races next year as negotiations are continuing for a spring race at the Circuit of The Americas in Austin.