Truex wins 'Best Driver' ESPY

Image by LaBounty/LAT

Truex wins 'Best Driver' ESPY


Truex wins 'Best Driver' ESPY


Reigning Cup Series champion Martin Truex Jr. has won the ESPY for “Best Driver.”

Truex was nominated for the award along with fellow champions Josef Newgarden (IndyCar), Lewis Hamilton (F1), and Brittany Force (NHRA Top Fuel). The award winner was determined by a fan vote and announced Wednesday night during the ceremony, which was hosted by former IndyCar and NASCAR driver Danica Patrick.

“Best Driver” was first handed out during the 1993 ESPYs with Truex becoming the seventh different NASCAR driver to win the award. NASCAR drivers have been nominated for the “Best Driver” ESPY on 19 occasions and have now won 17 times.

Jimmie Johnson and Jeff Gordon lead all NASCAR drivers with four “Best Driver” ESPY wins. Prior to Truex, Kyle Busch was the last driver to win the award in 2016.

F1’s Hamilton won the award last year.

Truex was nominated following a career year in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series where he won the 2017 championship in dominating fashion. Last season, Truex won eight races, led over 2,000 laps and scored 19 stage wins.