Honda Racing HPD Trackside: Watkins Glen 6H

Honda Racing HPD Trackside: Watkins Glen 6H


Honda Racing HPD Trackside: Watkins Glen 6H


Acura Team Penske’s Dane Cameron claimed the lead on the opening lap in his #6 ARX-05, with Ricky Taylor slotting his #7 Acura into third, as both successfully avoided an opening-lap, multi-car crash.

After opening-hour battles with the prototypes from JDC-Miller Motorsports and United Autosports, the Acura Team Penske pair established themselves at the front of the field. As the contest reached the two-hour mark, the starting drivers handed over to co-drivers Helio Castroneves, taking the lead in the #7 Acura, and Juan Pablo Montoya, now second in the #6 ARX-05.

Just 30 minutes later, Castroneves was forced to make an unscheduled pit stop due to an apparent transmission issue, losing several laps while repairs were completed. Castroneves and Taylor would persevere to finish 12th.

Montoya and Cameron remained at or near the front through the remainder of the contest, gathering maximum manufacturer NAEC points at the three-hour mark. Losing the lead briefly to Wayne Taylor Racing after the final round of pit stops, Montoya made a move to the front on a late-race restart with just 36 minutes remaining. But as Montoya passed Jordan Taylor in the WTR prototype, Stephen Simpson made it three-wide to gain the lead, and the victory. Meanwhile, a brief hesitation from the #6 Acura – due to low fuel – slowed Montoya in the run from the final turn to the checkers, and resulted in a third-place finish.

Still, a third consecutive podium finish for Cameron and Montoya – following a second-place finish at Mid-Ohio and third in Detroit – moves the pair unofficially into a tie for third in the Drivers’ Championship after six of 10 rounds. Acura is second in both the overall (by nine points) and NAEC (by just two points) Manufacturers’ Championships.