Acuras leads both classes in opening Detroit practice

Image by Richard Dole/LAT

Acuras leads both classes in opening Detroit practice


Acuras leads both classes in opening Detroit practice


The first IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship session in nearly a month ended in the same fashion as the last with Acura Team Penske’s Ricky Taylor sitting atop the leader board.

The series’ shift from Mid-Ohio at the start of May to the streets of Detroit’s Belle Isle produced a flurry of fast laps to close the 90-minute session where Taylor’s Acura ARX-05 (1m21.909s) edged Action Express Racing’s Felipe Nasr (+0.206s) in his Cadillac DPi-V.R and the sister AXR Cadillac driven by Joao Barbosa in third (+0.604).

On the 14-car Prototype grid, Colin Braun posted the fastest non-DPi lap in his CORE Autosport ORECA 07-Gibson to take fifth overall (+1.251).

In GT Daytona, which offers the only production-based racing for IMSA this weekend while most of its GT Le Mans factory entries are in France for the official Le Mans test day, Katherine Legge continued to amazing rise of Meyer Shank Racing’s part-time Acura NSX GT3.

Previously scheduled for IMSA’s four-race North American Endurance Cup championship, MSR has continued to find the sponsorship necessary to keep its second Acura on track after Legge and its co-drivers have elevated it to second in the season-long GTD championship.

It made Legge’s quick time in opening practice (1m29.905s) the latest salvo fired in the class as her lap was well clear of Jack Hawksworth’s Lexus RC F GT3 (+0.455s) from the nearby 3GT Racing stable and the other MSR Acura driven by Lawson Aschenbach (+0.487s). It also gave Acura the rare distinction of leading both classes in the same session.

The unruly street course was kind to the 36 IMSA cars in rotation as no contact was reported, but one red flag did occur when Oliver Jarvis stopped on course. The Briton’s Mazda RT24-P was returned to the pits where it fired and resumed the rest of the session without incident.

UP NEXT: Second practice, 1:05 p.m. ET

IndyCar Debrief