Full Le Mans entry and Test Day lists revealed

Image by LAT

Full Le Mans entry and Test Day lists revealed

Le Mans/WEC

Full Le Mans entry and Test Day lists revealed


The ACO has revealed the full entry list for the 86th running of the Le Mans 24 Hours, and the Test Day which will take place prior to race weekend, both including an updated reserve entry list.

In LMP1, the only change comes in the CEFC TRSM Racing squad. Both Ginetta G60-LT-P1s are still entered, although Ginetta factory driver Mike Simpson has been placed in the No.5 G60-LT-P1 instead of previously confirmed driver Dean Stoneman.

“I literally found out this morning!” he told RACER. “It’s been a bit of a day really! I got told I was in the car, because I have lots of endurance experience in 12- and 24-hour races. The company knows my skill set and that and that I can do solid and consistent jobs. That’s what they want me for Le Mans 24 Hours.

“I have already done the Le Mans sim test, which was all fine. I’ve been at all the tests, helped with the drivers and developed the drivers. I’ve been the guy helping to this point. I’d always tried to get a seat and was always the reserve driver, so to get a drive is amazing.

Mike Simpson, with Anna Walewska (Image by JEP/LAT)

“It’s the 60th anniversary of Ginetta, a British car manufacturer, which is racing at Le Mans in LMP1, so to be part of the story and the dream is something that for me is hard to describe.”

The rest of the list remains the same as it was for the 6 Hours of Spa Francorchamps. Both SMP Racing BR1 AERs and the DragonSpeed BR1 Gibson are still listed following their respective incidents at the season opener, though RACER understands that none of the three cars are 100 percent confirmed, due to investigations being undertaken into the incidents.

In the LMP2 class, both Jackie Chan DC Racing Ligier JSP217 Gibson driver crews have been set. David Cheng, Nicholas Boulle and Pierre Nicolet will drive one, while Penske Acura driver Ricky Taylor, former McLaren factory man Come Ledogar and 3GT Racing’s David Heinemeier-Hansson will drive the other.

The third driver in the No.26 G-Drive Racing ORECA 07 Gibson has also been confirmed as Andrea Pizzitola will drive with Roman Rusinov and Jean-Eric Vergne. Racing Engineering ELMS driver Norman Nato and reigning Asian Le Mans Series titleholder Harrison Newey have been named as the final two drivers in SMP’s Dallara P217 Gibson, alongside Viktor Shaitar.

GTE-Am’s entry has also seen some additions, with Spencer Pumpelly and Tim Pappas set to drive the No.99 Proton Competition Porsche 911 RSR with Porsche driver Patrick Long.

There have been no changes in the GTE Pro ranks for the full entry list, though there are some notable changes for the Test Day.

The reserve list has seen changes, the number of entries down to two. Currently, the No. 55 Spirit of Race Ferrari and the High Class Racing Dallara are the only remaining entries, the rest having been withdrawn, including the KCMG Dallara and Racing Engineering ORECA.

On the Test Day entry, there are multiple additions to the the driver line-ups for certain cars.

Toyota test and reserve driver Anthony Davidson is listed in both Toyota TS050 HYBRIDS; Fernando Alonso and Jose Maria Lopez are also listed in both.

Similarly in LMP2, Wayne Boyd is listed in both the United Autosports Ligiers. And Ryan Cullen and Matt McMurry are due to test the No.25 Algarve Pro Racing Ligier.

The No.26 G-Drive ORECA also has a fourth driver, Alexandre Imperatori, who stood in for Vergne in the European Le Mans Series season opener at Paul Ricard, will join the team’s Le Mans trio. The No.39 GRAFF ORECA has Alexandre Cougnaud as the extra man listed.

In GTE, Nick Yelloly has been named as a fourth driver in the No.56 Team Project 1 Porsche in GTE-Am, while in GTE Pro, Dirk Werner is scheduled to drive both the Nos. 92 and 93 911 RSRs.

Due to a clash with IndyCar’s race weekend at Detroit, Ford drivers Tony Kanaan, Scott Dixon and Sebastien Bourdais will not be present, nor will Augusto Farfus or Phillip Eng, who are both on DTM duty.

IndyCar Debrief