Williams requests review of Alonso's driving and Baku penalties

Image by Mauger/LAT

Williams requests review of Alonso's driving and Baku penalties

Formula 1

Williams requests review of Alonso's driving and Baku penalties

Williams has requested the stewards of the Azerbaijan Grand Prix reviews a number of penalty decisions as well as the driving of Fernando Alonso on the opening lap of the race.

Alonso was caught up in a collision with both Sergey Sirotkin and Nico Hulkenberg, resulting in the Spaniard getting two punctures and limping back to the pits slowly with a heavily damaged car. The damage was so significant that Alonso hit the pitwall on entry when his car wouldn’t turn, but he rejoined the race and went on to finish seventh in what he later called an “unrepeatable race”.

Sirotkin retired as a result of the incident, parking his car at Turn 3. He had had run into Sergio Perez on the opening lap at Turn 2 and was handed a three-place grid penalty for the Spanish Grand Prix for that incident, which is one of the other decisions Williams wants reviewed.

Williams has also requested Kevin Magnussen’s penalty for hitting Pierre Gasly at high speed late in the race – which resulted in Magnussen getting a ten-second time penalty and two penalty points – be reviewed, as well as the lack of further action over the collision between Kimi Raikkonen and Esteban Ocon at on the opening lap that resulted in Ocon’s retirement.

A preliminary hearing will take place via teleconference on Tuesday at 10am London time (11am CET), when Williams must present evidence in relation to the request. If the stewards are happy that a new element or elements exit, then a second hearing will take place at 11am London time (midday CET) on the same day to review the incidents.

More RACER
Home