F4 U.S. Championship breaks entry record for season opener

F4 U.S. Championship breaks entry record for season opener

SCCA / SportsCar Magazine

F4 U.S. Championship breaks entry record for season opener


History will be made as the Formula 4 United States Championship Powered by Honda returns to Virginia International Raceway April 27-29 with a record-breaking 37 entries for the Andy Scriven Memorial Race weekend, shattering the previous 34-car record set in 2017. Last year during its 20-race season, the F4 U.S. field averaged 32 cars.

The 37-car grid is more diverse than ever before, comprised of 22 rookies and 15 returning F4 U.S. drivers, representing 12 states and 10 countries.

“We are extremely pleased to return to Virginia International Raceway with such a strong field of drivers,” SCCA Pro Racing Vice President Steve Oseth said. “After announcing the F3 Americas Championship at COTA last October, we thought we would see a dip in entries as drivers graduated from F4 to F3.

“On the contrary, since the announcement, we’ve seen a boom in interest in both F4 U.S. and F3 Americas. The continued series growth is a testament to F4 U.S. remaining the most economical series in the United States for drivers who want to progress their open-wheel racing careers.”

Racing backgrounds across the field are vastly different this season. The grid spans from drivers graduating from karts to cars like Eduardo Barrichello, Dylan Tavella, Arthur Leist and Teddy Wilson, to former sprint-car and Legend drivers like Will Edwards, to seasoned open-wheel veterans like Steve Bamford and Jim Goughary Jr.

The F4 U.S. VIR lineup is also filled with national champions from various motorsport’s disciplines and special award winners like 2015 Team USA Scholarship recipient Dakota Dickerson, 2017 SCCA President’s Cup winner Matt Cowley, 2017 New Zealand’s SpeedSport “Star of Tomorrow” Scholarship recipient Conrad Clark, 2017 Motorsport Ireland/Sport Ireland Young Driver of The Year Jordan Dempsey and Jake French, who accepted the 2017 SuperKarts! USA S1 Pro Stock Honda F4 U.S. Scholarship after winning the SKUSA! S1 class national championship.

“All the competitors entered are very talented,” said Oseth. “Fans should expect to see intense wheel-to-wheel racing from the front of the grid to the back. It is going to be an exciting season of close competition.”

The F4 U.S. drivers will participate in a promoter test day on Thurs., April 26, followed by two practices on Friday. Qualifying and Race 1 will be held on Saturday, and the weekend will conclude on Sunday with the final two rounds of competition. Fans can view the full schedule and entry list at F4USChampionship.com.

VIR entry list:

Car  Driver Hometown Team Engine Sponsors
3 Aidan Yoder San Gabriel, CA Jay Howard Driver Development Honda Jay Howard Driver Development / CSU One Cure / Lucas Oil
4 Teddy Wilson Holbeach, UK Jay Howard Driver Development Honda Jay Howard Driver Development / CSU One Cure / Lucas Oil
5 Wyatt Brichacek Johnstown, CO Jay Howard Driver Development Honda Jay Howard Driver Development / CSU One Cure / Lucas Oil
6 Christian Rasmussen Copenhagen, DK Jay Howard Driver Development Honda Jay Howard Driver Development / CSU One Cure / Lucas Oil
7 Braden Eves Gahanna, OH Jay Howard Driver Development Honda
8 Angela Durazo Los Angeles, CA Global Racing Group Honda Setpoint Medical
9 Dakota Dickerson San Diego, CA DC Autosport w/Cape Motorsports Honda
11 James Goughary Jupiter, FL Primus Racing Honda Primus Racing Parts
12 James Raven Portsmouth, UK DEForce Racing Honda
14 Dylan Tavella Massapequa, NY Miller Vinatieri Motorsports Honda Diversified Private Wealth Advisor
15 Chandler Horton Zionsville, IN Alliance Racing Honda
16 Kent Vaccaro Plattsburgh, NY Momentum Motorsports Honda Momentum Motorsports
17 Vincent Khristov Delray Beach, FL Century Auto Racing Honda
19 Blake Upton Seattle, WA Global Racing Group Honda
21 Jacob Loomis Corinth, TX Abel Motorsports Honda
22 Jacob Abel Louisville, KY Abel Motorsports Honda
24 Benjamin Pedersen Copenhagen, DK Global Racing Group Honda Dirtfish
28 Will Edwards Greenwood, IN Alliance Racing Honda
30 Arthur Leist Novo Hamburgo, BR Crosslink Kiwi Motorsport Honda CIMED
31 Conrad Clark Taupo, NZ Crosslink Kiwi Motorsport Honda
32 Jose Blanco-Chock San Juan, PR Crosslink Kiwi Motorsport Honda Art-Draft Authority, INC
33 Joshua Car Sydney, AU Crosslink Kiwi Motorsport Honda Crosslink Powder Coating / LVP Powder & Paints
34 Austin Kaszuba Burleson, TX Crosslink Kiwi Motorsport Honda LESA / SRT Equipment Rental / GUNK / Liquid Wrench
35 Chris Archinaco Pittsburgh, PA Century Auto Racing Honda
40 Jack William Miller Westfield, IN Miller Vinatieri Motorsports Honda Indy Dental Group / Blue Marble Ultra Premium Cocktails
44 Ethan Billions Birmingham, AL Group-A Racing Honda Group-A Racing
57 Justin Gordon Lake Worth, FL Justin Gordon Racing Honda Justin Gordon Racing
61 John Paul Southern Jr Westlake, OH Southern Motorsports Honda Pittsburg International Race Complex
66 Parker Locke San Antonio, TX Global Racing Group Honda
77 Matthew Cowley Manchester, UK Century Auto Racing Honda
88 Kaylen Frederick Potomac, MD K-Hill Motorsports Honda
91 Eduardo Barrichello Sao Paulo, BR DC Autosport w/Cape Motorsports Honda
93 Cameron O’Conner Jahannesburg, ZA Group-A Racing Honda Repro Supplies
94 Jordan Dempsey Mullingar, IE Primus Racing Honda Digital Planet / Motorsport Ireland / Sport Ireland
03 Shehan Chandrasoma Austin, TX Group-A Racing Honda
06 Jake French Royse City, TX Full Gas Motorsports Honda
07 Steve Bamford Toronto, ON DC Autosport w/Cape Motorsports Honda

MX-5 Cup | Round 2 – Daytona | Livestream

More SCCA / SportsCar Magazine