Stewart-Haas Racing celebrates banner day

Stewart-Haas Racing celebrates banner day

Cup Series

Stewart-Haas Racing celebrates banner day


Stewart-Haas Racing might be celebrating its 10th anniversary this season, but the organization still experienced a first Sunday at ISM Raceway.

Behind Kevin Harvick’s third straight Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series victory, the three other SHR cars crossed the finish line inside the top 10. Clint Bowyer and Aric Almirola wound up sixth and seventh, respectively. Kurt Busch, the winner of the race’s second stage, finished 10th.

It was the first time all four SHR cars had placed inside the top 10 in the same race.

“It was an awesome day for us, that’s probably what I’m most proud of,” said co-owner Tony Stewart.

SHR was born in late 2008 when Tony Stewart announced he was joining forces with Gene Haas to enter the ownership side of the business. Stewart and Ryan Newman began the organization’s on-track tenure in 2009.

It wasn’t until 2014 when SHR would expand to four cars, bringing in Kevin Harvick and Kurt Busch. Bowyer replaced the retired Stewart at the end of the 2016 season, and Almirola took over the No.10 from Danica Patrick this year.

Following Sunday’s race, Stewart admitted this is the best SHR has been with all four cars.

“I think we saw that even at Daytona this year, the way all four teams ran at Daytona,” he said. “I admit, I thought we were going to get rained out at Atlanta, so I went home and was sitting there. I took a picture of the screen when we had all four cars in the top seven. I took a screenshot of it as a fan. Just kept looking at it going, this is really cool, never happened for our organization.

“It shows the strength of having four really good teammates that are giving four valid sets of information that they can all feed off of and work off of. It just seems like this group of these guys really work well together. I think a lot of it, too, is having that little extra time for these guys to be able to massage everything, take everything we had and make it better. It’s nice to look on the board and see all four cars in the top 10. That’s a proud moment.”

SHR has won 42 races between four drivers – Stewart, Newman, Harvick and Busch.