Jones ready to inherit legacy of the No.20

Jones ready to inherit legacy of the No.20


Jones ready to inherit legacy of the No.20


Erik Jones isn’t just climbing into a new ride this season at Joe Gibbs Racing; he knows he’s taking over one of the sport’s most successful car numbers.

So on Tuesday, Jones posted a video on his social media channels letting fans know he’s up to the task. Beginning in Daytona, Jones is the new driver of the JGR No.20 Toyota, which for the last five years had been driven by Matt Kenseth. Kenseth scored 15 wins driving the No.20.

Other drivers of the No.20 for JGR include Joey Logano, who won two races between 2009 and 2012 as well as 2009 Rookie of the Year. And there was Tony Stewart. From 1999 through 2008, Stewart drove to Victory Lane 33 times and won two Cup Series championships (2002, 2005).

Logano, Stewart and Kenseth are highlighted in the video.

Jones, the 2017 Rookie of the Year, acknowledges “the history of the 20 car runs deep. … I realize I have big shoes to fill and a tough challenge ahead, but I’m committed.”