Jerez a new edition to GP2 2017 schedule

Jerez a new edition to GP2 2017 schedule

Formula 2

Jerez a new edition to GP2 2017 schedule


GP2 Series organizers have confirmed the 2017 season calendar, which once again consists of 11 rounds, including 10 support races for Formula 1. Seven rounds will be held in Europe with three flyaway rounds: the return of Sakhir in Bahrain, Baku in Azerbaijan and Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi. There will be one standalone event in October at Circuito de Jerez, Spain.

The 13th season of the GP2 Series will open at Bahrain International Circuit on April 14-16. The last time the GP2 field raced in Bahrain was in 2015. The action will return to Europe with the second round of the year, taking place at Barcelona, before moving to Monte Carlo and going to Baku in Azerbaijan four weeks later. The month of July will see three events, starting with Spielberg back-to-back with Silverstone. Budapest will host the seventh round of the season in July before a welcome summer break.

The action will resume with back-to-back races at Spa-Francorchamps and Monza. The 10th round of the season will take place at Jerez de la Frontera in October, while the final event will be held at Yas Marina on November 24-26 alongside Formula 1.

“I am pleased to reveal this season’s calendar which is made of 11 race weekends again, including 10 events alongside Formula 1 and the return of Sakhir,” series CEO Bruno Michel said. “We’re delighted to race in Jerez between Monza and Abu Dhabi. We wanted to have the same number of events including three flyaway rounds in 2017 as in the previous year, but we were mindful of freight costs. This meant not adding a fourth flyaway round and staying in Europe for a standalone event. This is also why we decided to hold our final pre-season test session in Bahrain, ahead of the season opener.”

Date Venue
March 13-15 Barcelona (test)
March 29-31 Sakhir, Bahrain (test)
April 14-16 Sakhir, Bahrain
May 12-14 Barcelona
May 25-27 Monte Carlo
June 23-25 Baku, Azerbaijan
July 7-9 Spielberg, Austria
July 14-16 Silverstone, England
July 28-30 Budapest
August 25-27 Spa-Francorchamps
Sept. 1-3 Monza
Oct. 6-8 Jerez, Spain
Nov. 24-26 Yas Marina, UAE