MOTOGP: Marquez stuns with last-gasp Brno pole

MOTOGP: Marquez stuns with last-gasp Brno pole


MOTOGP: Marquez stuns with last-gasp Brno pole


MotoGP championship leader Marc Marquez turned in a stunning late lap to claim his fifth pole position of the season in qualifying for the Czech Grand Prix.

Yamaha’s Jorge Lorenzo was considered the man to beat after leading the way in third practice by three-quarters of a second, and he laid down an early marker in qualifying.

Lorenzo’s first flying lap was a 1m54.959s, 0.667 seconds clear of the pack. Marquez then improved to slash that deficit to 0.331s on his Honda, before Lorenzo improved again in the 15-minute shootout, restoring a tenth back to his advantage.

But in the final minute, Marquez completed a scintillating lap that included a pass on Valentino Rossi at the final corner, and crossing the start-finish line right behind Pol Espargaro’s Tech3 Yamaha. He managed to avoid losing any time with the maneuver, and his 1m54.596s was the fastest ever MotoGP lap of Brno.

The checkered flag flew moments later, and Lorenzo had already backed off, having to settle for second on the grid by 0.253s.

Andrea Iannone snatched the final place on the front row of the grid for Ducati after the flag was shown, but 0.631s split the top three.

Iannone’s late lap denied Suzuki’s Aleix Espargaro a first front-row start of the year, demoting him to fourth where he will share the second row with Hector Barbera and Rossi.

Andrea Dovizioso was delayed by an apparent tyre issue in the first half of the session and he eventually set the seventh-fastest time, just ahead of Suzuki’s Maverick Vinales, who had to abandon his second run with a suspected brake issue.

Dani Pedrosa safely navigated the first phase of qualifying, finishing on top with a 1m55.793s, and he took ninth on the grid.

The other rider to advance from the first phase of qualifying was Bradley Smith, who wound up 11th and one spot ahead of his team-mate Pol Espargaro.

Danilo Petrucci qualified 13th but will drop to 16th, based on his three-place grid penalty for contact with Eugene Laverty on the final lap of last Sunday’s Austrian GP.


Pos Rider Team Bike Time Gap
1 Marc Marquez Honda Honda 1m54.596ss 1m54.596s
2 Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha Yamaha 1m54.849ss 0.253s
3 Andrea Iannone Ducati Ducati 1m55.227ss 0.631s
4 Aleix Espargaro Suzuki Suzuki 1m55.324ss 0.728s
5 Hector Barbera Avintia Ducati Ducati 1m55.437ss 0.841s
6 Valentino Rossi Yamaha Yamaha 1m55.509ss 0.913s
7 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati Ducati 1m55.748ss 1.152s
8 Maverick Vinales Suzuki Suzuki 1m55.787ss 1.191s
9 Dani Pedrosa Honda Honda 1m55.841ss 1.245s
10 Cal Crutchlow LCR Honda Honda 1m55.930ss 1.334s
11 Bradley Smith Tech3 Yamaha Yamaha 1m56.115ss 1.519s
12 Pol Espargaro Tech3 Yamaha Yamaha 1m56.522ss 1.926s
13 Scott Redding Pramac Ducati Ducati 1m56.263ss
14 Eugene Laverty Aspar Ducati Ducati 1m56.535ss
15 Stefan Bradl Aprilia Aprilia 1m56.718ss
16 Danilo Petrucci Pramac Ducati Ducati 1m56.148ss
17 Loris Baz Avintia Ducati Ducati 1m56.797ss
18 Yonny Hernandez Aspar Ducati Ducati 1m56.805ss
19 Alvaro Bautista Aprilia Aprilia 1m57.062ss
20 Tito Rabat Marc VDS Honda Honda 1m57.606ss


Originally on