WRC: Tanak pulls away in lead of Rally Poland

WRC: Tanak pulls away in lead of Rally Poland

Racer Blog

WRC: Tanak pulls away in lead of Rally Poland


Ott Tanak stormed into an 18-second lead by winning all three Saturday morning stages on Rally Poland.

A combination of the DMACK tyres working well, choosing hard tires while the Michelin runners focused on softs and Tanak running eighth on the road on a much dustier day than Friday all helped the Ford driver to dominate.

Andreas Mikkelsen, third in the start order, remains his closest rival in the best of the Volkswagens. Hayden Paddon kept the pressure on Mikkelsen for second, closing briefly mid-morning and sitting 6.9s behind heading for the midday tire zone.

World Rally Championship leader Sebastien Ogier was back to being enraged by the running order rules as the loose surface proved much more costly on leg two’s stages.

Fourth place and a 16s deficit to the leader overnight became sixth place and a 59s gap by the end of the morning loop.

Thierry Neuville and Jari-Matti Latvala were both able to demote Ogier, with Latvala showing better pace through the morning as he finally found confidence and a good rhythm after a very underwhelming Friday.

Stephane Lefebvre took charge of the battle of the PH Citroens with quick times – including second overall on the concluding Babki stage – pulling him 11.9s clear of teammate Craig Breen and to within 3.8s of Ogier.

The full works WRC field is still running past the rally’s halfway point. Eric Camilli leads M-Sport team-mate Mads Ostberg in ninth while Dani Sordo still outside the points in 11th.


Pos Driver Team Car Gap
1 Ott Tanak, R.Molder DMACK World Rally Team Ford 1h32m46.5s
2 Andreas Mikkelsen, A.J.Synnevaag Volkswagen Motorsport II Volkswagen 18.0s
3 Hayden Paddon, J.Kennard Hyundai Motorsport Hyundai 24.9s
4 Thierry Neuville, N.Gilsoul Hyundai Motorsport Hyundai 40.3s
5 Jari-Matti Latvala, M.Anttila Volkswagen Motorsport Volkswagen 58.9s
6 Sebastien Ogier, J.Ingrassia Volkswagen Motorsport Volkswagen 59.1s
7 Stephane Lefebvre, G.Moreau Abu Dhabi Total WRT Citroen 1m02.9s
8 Craig Breen, S.Martin Abu Dhabi Total WRT Citroen 1m14.8s
9 Eric Camilli, B.Veillas M-Sport World Rally Team Ford 1m40.8s
10 Mads Ostberg, O.Floene M-Sport World Rally Team Ford 1m50.8s


Originally on Autosport.com

MX-5 Cup | Round 1 – Daytona | Race Highlights